We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here”
Review of Gowan Brae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gowan Brae House
Ranked #35 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a relaxing, warm and friendly end to our West Highland way walk. Lovely comfortable house as was our room. Felt at home even though we were only there for a few hours. Great breakfast menu.Our luggage was even transported to the station for us, did not know about that service when we booked but it was very welcome. It was very good value. If i`m in Fort William again will definatley go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile


Everything about the b&b was extremely well organised and we recieved the perfect balance of professionalism and friendliness. I couldn't have enjoyed the stay more. It was gay-friendly and perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hell0earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent two nights in this B&B and we have a very positive experience. The room was good, the hosts very friendly and helpful. It's very close to the centre of Fort William and they drop your bags off at the station for free. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed here in April 2012. We we very pleased with the service. Booking was very easy. We ended up with a third person who joined us for breakfast each morning but did not stay at the B&B. The mistress of the house was very accommodating and lovely and our friend was welcomed for breakfast with us for a small fee. They also provided packed lunch for our hike up Ben Nevis which was also very good!!! This Rick Steves approved B&B gets top marks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank get0uttat0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is the best B&B we stayed in during our entire trip. After leaving a disappointing experience at the Best Western, we wandered the town and ended up at Braeside House. Unfortunately, Aileen, the hostess, had no rooms, but invited us in and called Gowan Brae to see if they had space. She then sent us down the road to...
The best B&B of our trip. Jim and Ann were extremely friendly and welcoming. The view from our room was amazing. It was located only a short walk from town-center. The turn of the century house had been fully renovated; this was cleaner than even commercial hotels, actually than any other lodging I've ever been in; the tea and biscuit plate was perfect; the bed was comfortable; the heating worked well; the bathroom, though small, was well-arranged; the TV was easy to use and had all the (quite necessary) BBC channels. Gowan Brae was quite the anecdote to our night before. I even loved their shower gel.
The breakfast in the morning was spot on, though my partner and I puzzled over the dram of whisky served with her porridge until Ann explained later about cranachan.
My partner had some trouble adjusting the shower temperature, but I found it perfect.
Also, and perhaps most importantly, there was a stuffed bear on the bed as decoration. When my pregnant partner developed an affection for the stuffed animal over the night, Ann simply gave the bear to her. This will be my child's first stuffed animal. What price can you put on that?

Room Tip: Any room here is the right choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding in the Ben Nevis Inn.
The Host,Jim gave us a warm, friendly and helpful welcome.
The room was clean and warm with all the usual facilities of a Bed and Breakfast.
After a very good nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast, well presented and very tasty, served by the hostess Ann who did a grand job and we enjoyed chatting with her.
We were all set to walk to the Ben Nevis inn to pick up our car as we had got a taxi back but Jim offered us a lift which was very kind.
All in all an excellent stay and I would recommend it .
If we need to stay in Fort William again I will certainly give Gowan Brae a phone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potatomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Fuímos el 19 de enero tres amigos y es el mejor hostal que hemos visto en toda Escocia. La habitación (nº3) es preciosa, grande y acogedora, con buenas vistas. Eramos tres amigos y la habitación solo era para dos, pero nos pusieron una tercera cama para dormir los tres juntos, aunque nos ofrecieron dos habitaciones si queríamos. La atención fué familiar desde el primer momento hasta que nos marchamos, con cierta pena la verdad. El desayuno fué excelente, un completo desayuno escocés bien hecho y muy rico. Esperamos repetir en nuestro siguiente viaje a Escocia, que será solo por las Highlands. Desde Euskal Herria, un fuerte abrazo si lo leeis.

January 19 we were the three friends is the best hostel I've ever seen in Scotland. The room (no. 3) is beautiful, large and inviting, with good views. We were three friends and the room was only for two, but we put a third bed to sleep the three of us, although we were offered two rooms if wanted. The attention was familiar from the first moment until we left, with some worth the truth. The breakfast was excellent, a full Scottish breakfast well done and very rich. We hope to repeat on our next trip to Scotland, which will be only for the Highlands. From the Basque country, a big hug if you read it. Sorry for my bad english.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon Koldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
3.1 mi away
Campfield House Bed and Breakfast
Campfield House Bed and Breakfas...
#104 of 111 in Fort William
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fassfern Guesthouse
Fassfern Guesthouse
#45 of 111 in Fort William
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#49 of 111 in Fort William
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Inverlochy Villas
Inverlochy Villas
#59 of 111 in Fort William
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowan Brae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowan Brae House

Address: Gowanbrae Union Road, Fort William PH33 6RB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Gowan Brae House Hotel Fort William
Gowan Brae House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing