We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Terrific"”
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Ranked #7 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Terrific"”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well I think it's all been said before but I will add my two h'apporth!
Aileen and Paul are a great couple who will go the extra mile (or hundred) to make sure your stay is as smooth as it can possible be.
They have a lovely, comfortable, spotlessly clean house which has everything you could possibly want (great wi-fi!), the rooms are bright and airy, comfortable beds and ....... breakfasts to last you hours, - fresh fruit, yoghurt and any variation on the "full Scottish", delicious pastries, wonderful home made bread, oooo, I could go on.
Wish we could have stayed longer - that says it all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
213
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Well this was a great place to stay, everything is top notch, easy off street parking, and lovely rooms, the one we had looked out over the lake and would be the choice if availabe. The hosts were lovely people to deal with, very friendly and we shared a wee dram with Paul. It's an easy walk into town for shopping / pubs / or the Jacobite train, not quite so easy on the way back as there's quite a few stairs to climb, but a short cab ride. We would definitely return should we be in Fort William again

Room Tip: Choose the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I accidentally left behind a jacket, and discovered it missing when I returned to the States.

I emailed Braeside. They promptly confirmed that they indeed were holding the jacket for me. I gave them my States address, and offered to pay shipping.

They put it in the mail, and it soon appeared on my doorstep. They graciously declined my offer to pay shipping.

Even a 5-Star hotel would not have shown this level of friendliness and courtesy. I was most impressed. They have a First Class B & B too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everything about this place is top notch. Paul and Aileen were more than helpful with every question. We stayed two nights and would have liked to stay longer. The location is the best overall for exploring Western Scotland, and both Paul and Aileen are a font of information regarding this. We might be biased in that they share our interests of birding and hiking (walking). The breakfast was the best of our ten day trip, and we had several good breakfasts this trip-in fact both breakfasts were amazing. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outdoorfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have just had a three night stay at Braeside House. Good location being just a ten minute walk to the town or a two minute drive with easy parking at Morrisons supermarket car park which is also next to the bus and train station. Very nice en-suite room with great views. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Aileen and Paul to ensure a comfortable stay, including any special diet needs such as gluten and dairy free. They were also very good at suggesting the best places to visit as there is so much in the area to see.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kensaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family and I stayed for one night June 29th after climbing Ben Nevis. We agree with all previous reviews. The hosts were very welcoming. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was outstanding. I would strongly recommend this place to anyone staying in Fort Williams.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night and were given the warmest welcome we could have wished for. The room, the view and the breakfast were top notch! Aileen and Paul are lovely people and made the last day of our holiday very memorable :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineH8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Property: Braeside House
Address: Braeside Argyll Road, Fort William, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing