We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best B and B we stayed at during our two week trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Ranked #7 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best B and B we stayed at during our two week trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Paul and Aileen were tremendous hosts. We were treated like long lost friends. If you are staying in Fort William ....do yourself a favor STAY HERE!! Great view, well appointed room,laudry with a smile,made to order breakfast in a beautiful setting, shuttle to the train,storage for our hiking gear...all top marks!! But, the hospitality made it all the better.

Room Tip: we had the toom with the view of Loch Lenny STUNNING
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawson0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    35
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
209
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Aileen picked us up at the train station so we wouldn't have to trudge up the hill with our bags--that was our introduction to the wonderful 3-night stay at their home. The weather was dreadful for most of our stay and more than once Paul helped us dry-out our shoes and coats and offered a "wee dram" for the horrible cold that ensued. A cooked to order breakfast is served in a light and bright conservatory with views of the Loch. What we will remember is the warm welcome and hospitality Paul and Aileen offered and offer our highest recommendation when traveling to the Highlands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestotravelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed one night at Aileen and Paul's B&B after finishing the West Highland Way. We arrived slightly later than expected but they were not at all bothered and gave us a very warm welcome. After various hostels and inferior guesthouses etc along the WHW, the comfort and hospitality they provided, and especially their attention to detail, was a wonderful relief for two weary hikers. The breakfast (I had pancakes, coffee etc) was excellent, and Aileen even helped us find a room in a different place for our next night (we would definitely have stayed on there but they were fully booked). Overall we were very impressed and will call them first whenever we return to Fort William - between us we have stayed in about 4 other places in Fort William which are nowhere near as nice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_S123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just spent one night at Braeside House and the friendliness of Paul and Aileen made the 600 mile round trip more than worthwhile. This couple invite you into their home and make you feel like part of the family. They are fabulous at what they do and we wish we had booked to stay longer.

The double room we stayed in was 5 star standard and the breakfast cooked by Paul and served by Aileen was superb. Nothing is too much trouble and they clearly enjoy sharing their lovely home with visiting guests.

If you are looking for a B and B in Fort William, or even if you fancied a 5 star hotel, try Braeside House. A golden nugget in the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_Bateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have just completed both the West highland way and great glen way walks and just had to comment on the best B&B of the whole journey… Braeside. We deicide to stay at Braeside for 2 nights before heading off on the GGW and what a great decision that proved to be. The owners, Paul and Aileen could not have been more helpful and friendly, they both absolutely love the job they do and will strive to make sure each visitor staying with them has the best possible time they can. I can honestly say when I left them I felt like I was leaving old friends I had known for ages. The rooms are very well designed and comfortable, making for a great night’s sleep and relaxation, and the breakfast was great. Next time I visit Fort William it has to be Braeside!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Braeside for 2 nights when doing the West Highland Way followed by the Great Glen Way! With 2 weeks worth of walking and staying in a range of B&B’s I can confidently state this was by far the best of them all and trust me I stayed in some amazing places! The welcome was lovely and the room perfect for making me more human after 7 days walking with a great power shower. I’m just made up it was Fort William I decided to spend 2 nights in as a rest day! Nothing was too much trouble we had offers of a lift to the Ben Nevis Inn on the outskirts of the town to save our feet and general info about the town, including a great recommendation for the Indian restaurant - so good! We bumped in to Aileen and Paul when doing our own little pub crawl around Fort William and we joined them for a great evening. The breaky was perfect in the conservatory and they even offered a special! There was lots of choice with great views overlooking the Loch. What made this place stand out is that it is so obvious Aileen and Paul love meeting people and making their stay special – they care about your holiday experience and not just your stay (they even gave us a card for an inn on our route 2 days after we left!) You’d be crazy not to choose here but please don’t book it so it’s fully booked when we want to return asap :-)
Alison

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacasimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at Braeside House for one night, could have easily made it the rest of the week. Fantastic hosts, fantastic service, unbelievable views from the breakfast room, spotlessly clean, FELT LIKE HOME! I wouldn't hesitate to return next time i am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Property: Braeside House
Address: Argyll Rd, Fort William, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing