We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B with gorgeous view five min from town centre”
Review of Braeside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Braeside House
Ranked #7 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant B&B with gorgeous view five min from town centre”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We've been in Scotland six times and have stayed at a number of good B&Bs, but this little gem tops them all thanks to the owners Paul & Aileen. They went out of their way to make our stay as smooth and comfortable as possible. They even put on our favourite music for breakfast (Runrig) ; )! Thank you so much, you're lovely! Peter and Carita, Sweden

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    38
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
223
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed for one night but cannot fault this accommodation and more importantly the service Aileen and Paul provide. They were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The view from the property is stunning and an ideal location being a short walk from the centre. The room was lovely, clean and breakfast was superb in the morning looking out over the stunning view. The welcome and service provided by Aileen and Paul cannot be faulted in any way. Very highly recommended. Definitely 11 out of 10!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkymonkey80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I only spent 2 nights in Fort William, and booked just a few nights ahead. I was fortunate to get into Braeside House. Paul and Aileen were most friendly and accommodating - they even picked me up & dropped me off at the bus & train stations to save me the walk up the hill!

The house is well located on a quiet street above the town, with gorgeous Loch views from the breakfast nook and patio.

The room was spotless and very comfortable, with a lovely tea & biscuit selection. I was not wanting for a thing during my time there. I do hope to return to Fort William to take advantage of more area activities and outings. If I do, Braeside will be my first call!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Susanne. Two days is not long enough to explore the Lochaber area. We are so fortunate to be in such a gorgeous area and are always happy to hear our guests lovely stories of their experience of the Highlands. It was no problem picking you up and I was so happy to do so.
If you do ever return again from the States we will be very pleased for you to come and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Fort William after we climbed Ben Nevis. We were made extremely welcome and I was stunned by the gorgeous view of Loch Linnhe from our room. It's such a warm, homely place to stay and Paul and Aileen were the best hosts you could ask for. The breakfast in the conservatory was fab and they remembered my lactose intolerance and had lots of dairy free options for me. They were so genuine and friendly and even gave us delicious muffins for our climb! The B&B really is a home away from home and in a central location. We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank clodagh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Paul and I are so pleased that you enjoyed the views from the house and found our humble home a warm, homely place to stay. We always like to ensure that we cater for all our guests dietary needs, breakfast is the most important meal of the day so it is important that you have the food that makes you happy. Particularly when you are just about to climb Britain biggest mountain. We hope you will return soon, after all you are only just down the road. Don't forget that you are entitled to a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

There's service that you just can't buy. I recently stayed at this B&B and everything was superb. The rooms themselves were very comfortable. Paul & Aileen were great hosts - breakfast most enjoyable & nothing was any problem. good location only 5 minutes away from town centre and all this for a great price. Definately great value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms exellently presented - remember it's Paul & Aileen's house too you'le be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Bizzie, thank you for your lovely comments. Paul and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and we fulfilled your needs. We were particularly pleased that you trusted us with Bailey, he was a darling and no problem at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband Andy and I stayed for 5 nights in March at short notice. We were made very welcome and Aileen and Paul did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable. They did a great job. It was very clean, good location, great breakfast, especially the eggs benedict. The view from our room was also breathtaking. Highly recommended, well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purplemartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Martina & Andy, firstly let me thank you for your kind words about your stay with us here in Braeside House. Secondly a big big thank yo for our rock, my favourite as well. We are just so upset we missed Andy when he came by. I hope his trip went well with his friends. The little wooden sheep he found was really cute, as it has no owner I have adopted it. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Tom, Myself, my sister Bizzy & her dog Ballie and friend Dawn stayed for 1 night on our last leg of the West Highland Way.
After arriving a bit bedraggled and receiving a warm welcome, we could not have been made more welcome by Paul and Aileen. You could not meet a more genuine couple and we knew we would have a great last night in Fort William. A real home from home, spacious rooms , comfortable, with a wecoming sitting room and a view from the conservatory that would make you want to stay longer. After a week of cooked breakfasts, Paul's pancakes were a lovely change for breakfast. Aileen finished off our stay with a very welcome lift to the train station to catch our train home. 10 out of 10 Aileen & Paul and we can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen D, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Hi Angela & Tom, what can I say that hasn't already been said to you guys. You were a real pleasure to have in our B&B. All of you were such fun and so full of excitement after having just walked the West Highland Way, it was infectious. It would be great to see you all back here again. Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased that you had a nice time here in our humble home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
494 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
535 reviews
1.2 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Property: Braeside House
Address: Braeside Argyll Road, Fort William, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On an elevated position with wonderful views to the Loch and the Ardgour Hills. Away from the noisy busy main road is only a five minute walk to the town centre and the train station. Great location for climbing Ben Nevis and winter skiing with many more attractions within easy reach. Drying room and Laundry provided as well as safe storage for cycles. Home from home relaxing and comfortable atmosphere at a price that suits the purse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braeside House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing