We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Pub”
Review of The Grog & Gruel

The Grog & Gruel
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Great food, good beer and a relaxed atmosphere in our Traditional Alehouse & Restaurant located on Fort William's pedestrianised High Street.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Traditional Pub”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is such a refreshing change from the plastic pub chains. This is a real pub with a great atmosphere, good selection of real ales and whiskey with well cooked reasonably priced food. I had the very tasty Aberdeen Angus and Black Pudding burger for £10.95 came with salad and chips.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    675
    220
    79
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fort William food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I've used this pub for the last 8visits to this area and have not had any complaints. Usually in a group of 4-8.

Start with beer downstairs where you wait for your table to free up.. a good choice of beers ales and cider to keep most happy.
A wide mix on menu with venison and hog burgers a favourite.

Always seems busy which is a sign of its popularity. I don't think you'll be disappointed.


Helpful?
Thank 1_mth_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

brilliant staff brilliant food. loved this place went to the reastraunt above the pub and was absolutely lovely. portion size is great get a lot for the money. lovely choice on the menu. went with a group of eight of us all got 3 courses and came to under £20 each and for what we all got was defo worth the money. highly recommended. we all got different things and never had a bad word to say about anything

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Em92travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I ate here recently with a group of friends when walking the West Highland Way. The food was good, with a good selection of menu choices, including a number of vegetarian options. Portions were a good size. Also a wide variety of beers available. The restaurant was quite busy, so service was a bit slow at times (I ordered a drink just before starting the main course, it arrived just before I finished eating).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food and drink”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Fast and friendly service. popped in for lunch and returned again early evening for dinner. Good menu options, Stornoway black pudding was FAB. Excellent beer choices and even sold Stowford Press cider.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grog & Gruel also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Grog & Gruel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing