We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent pub”
Review of The Grog & Gruel

The Grog & Gruel
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Fort William
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Great food, good beer and a relaxed atmosphere in our Traditional Alehouse & Restaurant located on Fort William's pedestrianised High Street.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent pub”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

good range of beers with a nice atmosphere ,good place to go if you like a relaxed pub that isn't too noisey

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank blandifon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    675
    220
    79
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor meal”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Really disappointed. Poor meal, pie only moderately warmed up....hope I'm not ill, chilli was tasteless

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No nonsense homely grub”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The four of decided we needed s a full belly having not eaten enough through the day , this proved the right place to go and we left happy.
I had.a venison burger which was ok and had some nachos to start which we're fairly spicy and for me that was good but be careful if you don't like jalopenenos!
Good value and good service
Visit downstairs for some good local ales and a good array of whiskies
I'll call again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Only here 7 nights and now been 3 times. Excellent beer, good well priced food and very welcoming friendly staff. Many will find the starters sufficient as main course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martleshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon--the only choice!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were traveling via train and bus on a Sunday between Glasgow and the Isle of Skye--and not too much was open. However, we were fortunate to find the Grog and Gruel open and within an easy 10 minute walk from the train station. (The bus stop is just down the hill from the train station--alongside the supermarket.) I had a great vegetarian hagas and refreshing ale. The town was very, very quiet on this Sunday fall afternoon, but we enjoyed the stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grog & Gruel also viewed

Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Grog & Gruel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing