We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but still needs work to be a 5 star B&B.”
Review of The Gantocks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gantocks B&B
Ranked #39 of 112 Fort William B&B and Inns
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good, but still needs work to be a 5 star B&B.”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Gantocks was good, our hosts kind and accommodating, but the king size bed is just two twins pulled together, and I spent much of the night in the crack. Not really a 5 star night's sleep. There is no wireless, which makes travel arrangements hard, and they don't accept credit cards. The bathroom was extremely clean, which I appreciated, and the extra long tub is very nice. All in all, a solid B&B, but not the luxury experience it advertises.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank treocyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed at the Gantocks with my daughter while on a Highlands road trip, the moment we arrived at 4.00pm the friendliness and warm hospitality began - tray of tea and homemade shortbread, more tea at night when requested and a superb breakfast with homemade scones, soda bread and oatcakes and a fruit plate to put any Four Seasons to shame - our two rooms and ensuites were a good size and the location a mile or so south of Fort William alongside Loch Linnhe provides uninterrupted views across the loch and mountains of Sunart - spectacular, we hope to return

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rphimister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed at the Gantocks with my partner for a bit of luxury after walking the West Highland Way. The owners were unfazed by me warning them we might arrive with muddy packs (we had camped) and willingly took delivery of our suitcase of clean clothes that we sent with a baggage carrier. Upon our arrival Sandra provided us with a pot of tea and homemade shortbread - I believe they do this for all their guests but she went out of her way to do this for us because they were suffering from a freak power cut at the time! The room was very comfortable with a king size bed, although the mattress could perhaps do with being replaced. The en-suite bathroom was spacious and the shower very powerful. We had a room at the front so had a lovely view over Loch Linhe. The windows were double-glazed so there was no significant traffic noise from the road. Breakfasts were very generous and included home-baked scones and oatcakes. The owners were polite and interested in all their guests without being overbearing. It made a lovely end to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Highly recommend The Gantocks. Sandy and Allen know what they're doing and are the friendliest of proprietors. Breakfast selection is excellent as is the food itself. You won't leave hungry. The room is spacious with huge ensuite. The house itself is a 10 minute walk from town along the gorgeous loch whose views are unobstructed from the dining room and small outdoor terrace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roundtheworld131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Gantocks deserves it's five star Bed and Breakfast status. 10 mintues walk,south,from the town centre of Fort William. If you are walking on Ben Nevis this is the ideal location. We were a party of 4 and the hospitality from Alan and Sandra Henderson was superb, tea and biscuits when we arrived, rooms en suite to outclass many 5 star hotels, large double beds,clean and fresh, power shower tea and coffee facilities in the room, hairdryer etc. Packed lunch for our Nevis climb was fresh prepared and tea supplied for our flasks. The breakfast was a choice of full Scottish fry with black and white pudding, bacon, saussage and egg, preceeded with home made porrige & honey, orange juice,grapefruit and hot fresh scones straight from from the oven, served with butter and jam. On day 2 we had fresh Scottish smoked kippers, outstanding .One point to remember,checkout is 10.30am. If you are planning to stay in Fort William don't bother to look around, this place hits the spot, it is a lovely, quality,B+B.
Bernard & Patricia McNally, N.Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We managed to obtain a last minute booking due to cancellation at the Gantocks Self Catering cottage next door to the B&B. We did not wish to "risk" Fort William again with just a tent (that leaked). We most impressed with the luxury of the accommodation, the quality of the equipment, furniture, infact everything! The most amazing view of Loch Linnhe greets you every morning and every time you look out of the windows. Sandra greeted us and showed us around and how to work everything - including the cosy electric Aga. We had the most luxurious week in Scotland we have ever had and were all able to get out of the midges if needed. Allan and Sandra definitely know how to run an excellent hospitality business and know exactly what their guests want and expect. Excellent powerful showers, spa bath for those aching limbs after long walks and best of all the Emperor sized bed in the main bedroom. The best sleeps we have had in years! Although our laptop could not pick up their wi Fi connection in the cottage, Sandra suggested we come to their breakfast room (B&B) next door whenever we needed to use the internet. Needless to say, we will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymoll44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2010

My teenage daughter and I were having a girly activity couple of days in the Fort William/Glencoe area and were delighted that The Gantocks was available. It did not disappoint in any way. The welcome was warm and included 'would you like a cup of tea?' which we thought was very nice. The setting is beautiful and our suite felt like being in a boat or like being in a picture postcard. It could not be surpassed, I would suggest, anywhere in Europe. The suite was 'wow' factor. It was stunning and beautifully set up for your arrival. It is quite obvious the hosts have excellent taste in high quality and luxury accomodation. Breakfast was again very warm and welcoming, delicious and the matching local crockery was beautiful. Warm scones, porridge: oh, it just warms the heart to remember. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainey1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
4.1 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 112 in Fort William
90 reviews
4.3 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Travee B&B
Travee B&B
#1 of 3 in Corpach
159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ben Nevis Guest House
#22 of 112 in Fort William
161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gantocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gantocks B&B

Property: The Gantocks B&B
Address: The Gantocks Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gantocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gantocks B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing