We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gantocks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gantocks B&B
Ranked #43 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Alan and Sandra are very welcoming hosts. The B and B is well situated with good views. It is spotlessly clean, they provide an excellent breakfast which is cooked to order. A very comfortable stay on our trip to Skye.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardnasser, Owner at The Gantocks B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed staying with us.Your lovely review is so appreciated and helps us to maintain our position of excellence.Many thanks and 'Haste ye back'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have just spent two nights at The Gantocks. This is a really comfortable and spotlessly clean b&b with very welcoming and hospitable hosts. We were travelling by train and therefore needed taxis, restaurant bookings, etc, all of which were arranged for us by Allan and Sandra. They also made an early breakfast for us before we left to catch our train home, which we very much appreciated. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: The Gantocks is a mile or so from the centre of Fort William in a lovely position overlooking the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardnasser, Owner at The Gantocks B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Lovely comments from lovely people.So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I had the great pleasure of spending a night at this wonderful B&B over a year ago. Despite the tardiness of this review, the memory of our stay here remains fresh!

The accommodations are first-class and might I say the stand-up shower rates as one of my all-time favourites.

The hosts, Allan and Sandra, were very welcoming and provided some excellent dining and sight-seeing tips for the area.

Breakfast was, in a word, fantastic.

Overall, a wonderful experience that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardnasser, Owner at The Gantocks B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to give us such a wonderful review .We loved meeting you and were glad to be of help during your trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I recently had the good fortune to visit The Gantocks B & B again after an absence. I was not disappointed. As usual the hospitality was away and above what is expected from these genial, friendly and welcoming hosts and it is always a pleasure to visit here. We received the best of welcomes and the best of food. If you are thinking of stopping for a night or longer in the Fort William area then this is the place for you.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardnasser, Owner at The Gantocks B&B, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Your fabulous comments make this life so rewarding.We enjoyed having you back and hope to see you again some day.Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a really lovely B&B. Stayed in the Robertson room which is on the back overlooking the garden. Huge very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with VERY powerful shower. Allan and Sandra are perfect hosts. Breakfast is an experience all of it's own - delicious home cooking of locsl produce which fills you up for the whole day.
Convenient for the town centre just a mile away - an easy walk along the lochside.
We had perfect weather and had a very enjoyable stay in this lovely gem of a B&B

Room Tip: Robertson spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ardnasser, Owner at The Gantocks B&B, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.You certainly picked the right time to come to the Highlands.Haste ye back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The title says it all! A warm, warm welcome from Allan and Sandra, Fantastic location, great view of the loch, and a short walk into Fort William if you fancy a meal or a drink. A beautiful, spotless, comfortable room and delicious food, with a breakfast menu that could only impress the finest of diners.- what more could you want?

I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mintyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I enjoyed this more than I have enjoyed 5 Star hotels. The breakfasts are outstanding, the room was attractive, comfortable and immaculate. Alan & Sandra were kind and gracious hosts. An outstanding experiemce all round!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eslivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.3 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 120 in Fort William
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 120 in Fort William
85 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
648 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#24 of 120 in Fort William
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gantocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gantocks B&B

Property: The Gantocks B&B
Address: The Gantocks Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gantocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gantocks B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing