We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Gantocks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gantocks B&B
Ranked #37 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Allan and Sandra were great hosts with lots of good information. Our room was large and clean with lovely views of the gardens and an extra large bathroom with a shower and jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was excellent with lots of food, lots of choices with a beautiful view of the Loch. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

this is a beautiful b&b in fort william right on the water.alan and sandy were very hospitable.beautifully appointed room and very tasty brekky.bed very comfortable and big bathroom.great looking over the water with the mountains in the background.alan was very helpful with directions for the next part of our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is a wonderful and quiet location at the Loch. The rooms are very comfortable and cosy. We have never slept in such a big bed. The owners are very friendly and helpful, they do everything to make you feel comfortable. The breakfast is very delicious and prepared with love.
We definetively will return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our last trip to Fort William. The room was fab, lots of room with a really big comfortable bed. The selection for breakfast was excellent. It was served in the front room over looking the bay. The co-owner Allan, drifted in and out with our food and was most helpful with facts and things to do/see in the area. In fact, our hosts were nothing short of perfect. We would definitely stay here again, but not at £130 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slotto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here this past week.

The hosts are very friendly and inviting. Our room was clean and spacious; the bed was very large and comfy and we had a big, clean bathroom with shower, tub and plenty of towels and toiletries.

My wife especially loved the decor.

In the morning we were treated to the best breakfast either of us had eaten on any of our travels. Wide range and variety of choices on their menu and the hosts were thankfully willing to accommodate our great appetites. The homemade scones are a highlight. We both had full breakfasts which were excellently prepared and extremely satisying (and we are a very hungry couple). An amazing way to start our day before wandering up Ben Nevis.

The Gantocks is a great place to stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Room is very sweet and nice, bed is very comfortable. Bathroom is clean and big, even has a massage tub in. Room is bright and well decorated. Breakfast is so big, and very tastily. Owners are very helpful and friendly. Very nice couple. Will come back again for sure.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms available. We stayed at the garden view one. Try to get the lack view one if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshmellowminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here prior to walking the great glen way, worth every bit of its 5 star rating couldn't fault anything, beds were heaven and the shower was excelent we didnt use the whirl pool bath and that might have been a blessing at he end of the walk.Even let us leave our car there while we did our weeks walk.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#29 of 111 in Fort William
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 111 in Fort William
104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
Cuil-Na-Sithe Corner of Heaven
#34 of 111 in Fort William
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gantocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gantocks B&B

Address: The Gantocks Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $187 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gantocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gantocks B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing