We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class b&b”
Review of The Gantocks B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gantocks B&B
Ranked #40 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st class b&b”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here on the 12th oct for 2 nights in a beautiful spacious room facing the garden at the back,the room was immaculate and had a huge bed and lovely en-suite which had a spa bath and power shower.We had a lovely welcome from Sandra and Alan who are very nice and made us feel right at home.The breakfast was fantastic,very large with lots of choice with lovely home baking.
The view across the loch are stunning.We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stopped at the Gantocks on the 19th Sept. We received a very warm welcome off Sandra and a bit later on her husband Allen. The room we had was fab, with its huge bed and lovely en-suite and the little extras of shortbread, sweets and fudge. Theres not many B & B's out there that do this. (We havnt anyways). I dont find it a problem filling in the breakfast request, as it saves time in the morning having to wait for it to be made. We had a previous holiday where the same thing applied and it is great not having to wait for ages for your food. The front bedroom had a fantastic view of the loch, pity it was a bit misty though. We would definatly recommend the Gantocks and look forward to staying again in the near future. Thank you Sandra and Allen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed on the 23rd September for one night and it was lovely. We had the room at the front of the house which had a lovely view of the loch. When we arrived we were asked if we would like tea or coffee, which was then served in the lovely dining room with some shortbread (very welcome after the drive!) The room was comfortable and warm, the bathroom a good size with a good strong shower. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! I wasn't sure about B&B's, but this one had totally changed my mind! Will happily stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batgirl_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Greeted by Sandra upon arrival very warm and friendly tea and biscuits in the dining room overlooking the Loch, filled in the reg form and the breakfast request for the following morning why, I dont know when at mid-afternoon you should know what you may require for breakfast.
We had the front room with a shower that leaked on the floor, plenty of bits and pieces and towels, the bed was large leaving very little space in the room to turn round. Then it started...a child from within the owners quarters ran up and down the hallway outside our bedroom screaming the place down for a good twenty minutes.
At night we returned from a restaurant in Fort William and retired to our bed, then again the noise of people walking past to the dining room I suspect making ready for breakfast, later people (guest's???) were moving about slamming doors opposite, finally we got off to sleep only to be awoken before light by footsteps coming too and fro from the dining room and then guest's banging doors to leave early, not a restful experience.
Breakfast: Allan came into the dining room and introduced himself, charming gent, then commenced to bring in our already ordered breakfast, tea in a heavy scottish ironstone pot that I struggled to lift from the sitting position to pour into my thick Scottish Ironstone cup, orange juice came in what I can only describe as a Scottish Ironstone flower vase breakfast came and was hot and sufficient although my partners scrambled egg was still a little raw and was returned and Allen was most apologetic and replaced.
Not a five star things a little bit tired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobev_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Gantocks from the 3rd to the 5th of September 2012 with a view of doing the famous Jacobite Steam train on Tuesday 4/9/12. Sandra welcomed us very warmly when we arrived, and later prepared a tray with tea and shortbread biscuits. We stayed in the Henderson room overlooking the loch; it had a huge bed, luxurious sheets, comfortable, warm duvets, fluffy/thick white towels, a large shower cabin with a power shower, lots of toiletries in the bathroom, flat screen TV, a tray for tea or coffee/biscuits. Loads of small objects around the house, which contribute to its warmth. A registration and breakfast sheet was left in our room, which we completed and left in the dining room (has to be done before 18.00 hrs for breakfast the following morning). We met Allan the following morning at breakfast - a charming gentleman who welcomed us as warmly as Sandra the previous day. Breakfast is to die for!!!! The Highland Grill is not to be missed, the creamy porridge, cooked slowly over the oven all night must be tried at least once, you must try the plump Mallaig kippers with scrambled eggs if you like kippers (a dash of whisky on the kippers will bring out its flavour even further). Home made hot scones, soda bread and biscuits, together with butter and home made jams come along with the tea or coffee, this is what I would describe as a "royal" breakfast", and you will not feel hungry before early evening. Sandra had very kindly booked us a table next to the water at the "Crannoch" fish restaurant for 19.00 hours, she also booked the various taxis we required for various destinations. The B & B is only 15 minutes walk from the train station, or 10 minutes walk from the fish restaurant, and can easily be done if the weather is nice. The B & B is literally overlooking the loch, and has therefore fantastic views, my husband could have easily admired the view for endless hours! Sandra and Allan are fantastic hosts, and when we left on Wednesday the 5th of September, we almost felt as part of the family and could have easily stayed on for a few more days, it was such an enjoyable place to be in! We would highly recommend the Gantochs to anybody visiting Fort William. Please be warned that credit cards are not accepted, payment has to be made in cash or cheque.

Room Tip: The Henderson room overlooking the loch has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline Elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

As a business Director and therefore a regular business traveller, I can honestly say this is a 5 star B&B in every way. The beds are massive and the breakfasts over facing, if you over order. A superb 5 day stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have very large king size beds, although one has a bottom board, so if you are like me and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was quite undecided on this B&B as it was supposed to be 5 star. We stayed in the MacLennan room which has a fantastic massive bed and extremely spacious bathroom. Unfortunately the room is also right near the breakfast room so you have absolutely no chance of sleeping once anyone is up (every word spoken could be heard, sorry Allan). The decor of both the room and the rest of the house that we saw confused me a little, very modern in some areas and then old fashioned dolls/teddies in other parts which I didn't feel fitted right togther. A little de-cluttering feels needed. Breakfast is big and plentiful, be careful of ordering too much as portions are huge, but tasty. So overall - comfort and food good, decor and noise not so good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 155DGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
3.5 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
Westcourt Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torlinnhe Guest House
Torlinnhe Guest House
#4 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hillview Guesthouse
Hillview Guesthouse
#22 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#25 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gantocks B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gantocks B&B

Property: The Gantocks B&B
Address: The Gantocks Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gantocks B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gantocks B&B Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing