We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, spacious home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Moulin Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mes045
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, spacious home”
Reviewed July 18, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Bottom line: though not as well-appointed as fancier rentals, the value of this place was fantastic, and our family of 9 made great memories here. We did a lot of cooking instead of eating out, so the kitchen suited us - however the fridge is slightly smaller than American fridges, so we went to the grocery store daily (Co-Op in Ballachulish is 5min away). The Aga-style old fashioned stove has a sign stating it is not to be used, but there is a modern range and oven you can use. The dishwasher was broken, so we hand-washed all dishes. The laundry washer and dryer worked great, and a previous renter left behind some washing powder for us, so we did the same! The interior is more spacious than photos indicate, with wide hallways and lots of seating. Unfortunately it is not open-concept - the living room is closed off from the kitchen by a wall. We had a rental car, and found the house’s location very convenient for driving to Glencoe for hikes or to Oban for the ferry. There are also two incredibly beautiful & physically challenging hiking trails behind the house in walking distance (Sgorr Dhearg and Sgorr Dhonuill), and a lengthy bike/running path that will take you around Loch Leven with gorgeous water views and apparently goes all the way to Fort William. It’s true that you must bring your own bath towels, and we also suggest buying lots of paper towels at the store to use as hand towels. Peter was very kind and responded quickly during the check in and check out processes - the key is in a lock box, so we only communicated over phone calls. The WiFi is not super fast but it works - you can check email, use Google Maps, and (slowly) upload photos/videos to social media if desired; sot near the router in the kitchen for fastest performance.

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyClar...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place ”
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay. The location is stunning and the place is very spacious. There is everything you need in the kitchen loads of equipment, the aga was stunning and easy to use. Pete actually came round to show us how to use it which was nice. Nice to find such a lovely place which accepts dogs as it's hard to find somewhere! The showers were amazing!! The beds are quite hard but it didn't bother us as I think it's personal preference. Definatly staying again!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela C
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large family cottage”
Reviewed January 28, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was good but could easily have been outstanding.
The cleaner turned off the aga and so no heating or hot water on arrival but this was very quickly sorted
We never noticed the bring your own towels -again quickly sorted
Beds were rock hard -please get mattress toppers
Brand new kettle did not work
Beautiful open fire but nothing to use- we went and bought our own
Absolutely stunning location
Large rooms
We'll stocked variety of kitchen equipment
Great value for money
Would I stay again - most definitely yes if they have mattress toppers

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Hi Angela, thank you too much for taking the time to review. You are right we have only just purchased the property and are having a few teething problems, but as you found, nothing we can't overcome. Can't believe the new kettle failed - sorry...We agree the location is stunning. Thanks again and see you soon. Pete & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HazelNort...
Northampton uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
10
people found this review helpful

Our family stay was spoilt because we were misled with the facilities in this house.

We paid for unlimited Wifi, TV, and Microwave. What we got was No Wifi, No TV and No Microwave (all advertised). The dishwasher only washed items in the lower basket. Beds were hard and lumpy. There were no instruction for using these items in the Lodge.

I put these points to Pete, who recons he was at the Lodge two days before us and the Wifi box was there and must have been stolen !!! He said the TV was working too, indicating that three adults must be stupid not to be able to work it, even though there was no aerial and No Service. Pete didn't agree that the beds were lumpy when he slept there. We were not offered any compensation, just complete indifference.

Such a shame, because otherwise, the place was very clean and in a lovely location.

I go to Fort William at least three times a year but I will not stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Hallelujah...you not staying at Moulin Lodge is the best news I have heard in a long time. I am struggling to remain professional with you. How would you like your instructions to use the beds???? As for the TV you state there is no ariel - how would you know as it is in the loft? Have you been in the loft? and yes Sarah and I stayed at Moulin and watched lots of TV through the new digital box, purchased by us, yet your husband and son, who you claim are BT engineers could not get a signal or work 2 remote controls and so moved the entire tv in to the kitchen to see if another tv point worked - why does this not surprise me. Your husband told me the phone that you had not selected the right setting on the dishwasher. You have said I did not offer any compensation yet you did not request any? That said, I would of happily refunded your entire payment for you to stay somewhere else. I have spoken to previous guests about your review and claims, all of which were amazed and bemused reporting none of the above. It is a real shame that people like you spoil it for the majority of genuine guests, but you are entitled to your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer77...
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing