We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Quite nice little bunkhouse, showers were a bit rubbish but it was lovely and warm after a long days kayaking. Facilities in the kitchen were alright, but could do with a better oven and some new pots. TAKE YOUR OWN POTS AND PANS. Can be absolutely boiling if you leave the heating up all night, but the beds are wonderfully soft, really sink into them. All in all, a decent place to stay on an outdoor expedition.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HARK-THE-HERALD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I'm sorry to say but if Ben/Glen Nevis wasn't there why would anyone ever stay in Fort William? Bypassed it on honeymoon travelling Scotland 7 years ago for a reason. Corpach is a mile away, has shops, pubs and you pass by the beautiful Neptune's Staircase. Anyway...... There were us (4) and another group in two separate rooms. All pots pans etc were there to use which saved lugging more stuff in like we had in various bunkhouses all week. Well equipped, comfy warm bedrooms, big drying room, stunning views. I hadn't read a review before booking and glad because it was the nicest place we'd stayed all week.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misseatalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Well having read the reviews before we went to the bunkhouse,i was pleasantly surprised at what we got. We arrived last friday 29th june for our friends 50th birthday,we found the office straight away and was greeted by the owner she showed us round the bunkhouses as we had 2 due to there being 21 of us! on arrival there was no toilet roll in any of the houses,but when i asked for some it appeared straigh away! i was amazed at the space we had,she gave me a tour of each room telling me all about the hot water! yes the bathrooms were dissapointing but nothing more than i expected.....they were clean enough! they really do need a refurb,the shower dial kept coming off in my hand but we coped. Yes it was a little shabby and could do with smartning up,but for the price we paid it was ideal for our party.The best thing about this bunkhouse is the location the views are stunning overlooking the locks and views of Ben Nevis in the background. The hogwarts express (harry potter train) runs infront of the bunkhouse 2/3 times a day. Just around the corner there is a very handy Coop store open until 11pm (please note they do not serve alcohol after 10pm!(scottish rule) there is also a chippy close by (car needed) I would definately return here without hesitation.The only downfall we did have was a couple having a romantic evening!!!!!!! in the bunkhouse above us and we thought the bed was going to come through the ceiling,the beds a extremly squeeky!! we actually saw this couple the following morning in jjs cafe 2 mins away for a fab breakfast......Oh how embaressed were they when i told them how noisy they were!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

well i have just read the reviews and thought oh my lord how true they are the people who own this place they call a bunkhouse are awful i have never in my life been talked to such rudness and arrogrant in my life this place is so run down the place is a mess when you pay for somewhere to stay it should be at least clean and nice staff but this place is awful the showerswasnt working probly the bed covers were full of stains and may i just add my friends bed had what looked like pee stains and pubic hair in there so he had to sleep on the floor we told the cleaner the next morning who just looked at us as if we were the ones in the wrong and just said to us well its nothing to do with me the other review i read that there was pans under the toilets well there is pans under the toilets and the furniture has got holes in and the sofa in blacksmiths ive thrown better looking things out in skips i would seriously recommend not staying here this place is dirty unkemp and the owners and staff are just basically there to take your money but i admit fortwilliam is a lovely place BUT I WILL DEFINTLY NOT BE STAYING AT THIS BUNKHOUSE AGAIN...............

Room Tip: just dont even stay in this place its a exprience i will not forget and a bad one at that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpach12, Owner at The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

You do not say when you arrived to stay with us in October / November so it is difficult to for us to factually trace this back. Neither can we find a record of anyone with your name staying with us.

There is no way that the bedding was covered in stains or hairs - the bedding is changed and freshly laundered after each client leaves. You did not mention any of this directly to us - our Polish cleaner did not relay this to us - which normally she would have done. You did not say that anyone had slept on the floor. Everyone is told to contact us if there is a problem - we are only ever a couple of minutes away.You could have called us abou the shower if there was any problem. You chose not to to do this.
As it happens we had only just had an independent inspection which in no way reflects the claims you made about our property.
There are not pans under the toilets. We do have some plastic containers under some of the metal fittings because of condensation drips - especially in cold weather when all the heat is turned up.

Given some of the ongoing comments we have from other clients elsewhere your assessment of the accommodation just does not stack up.

We are never rude or arrogant - we cannot afford to be. We do have a high level of repeat business so we cannot be that bad!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

me and my friends stayed here we were greeted by the owner john cutherbertson he was rude and total ignorant and the staffwell they were just as bad neways after a long slog up ben nevis we got back and the showers were shocking hardley any water came out and when we did find some one to complain to all we got was theres nothing wrong with them and the toilets oh my dear lord they were filfthy there was pans under the toilets collecting water what had been dripping and the furntuire was mankie and the bedding had stains on and the cleaner well she wasnt helpful at all last year i came here and there was another cleaner geordie girl who was lovely and friendly helped you out the place was spotless when she was there now the place stinks of old forgies home i will defo not be staying here again needs health and saftey to visit

Room Tip: just do not go here its awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpach12, Owner at The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

You do not say when you actually stayed with us or which property you stayed in.

It is unfortunate that you felt that John and I were rude or arrogant. This is certainly not our intention. You perhaps mis understood our atttitude after a hard day on hill.
If you did let us know that there was something wrong with the showers then this would have been attended to as soon as practical. Occassionally clients may say that the showers do not work - mostly this si becaude they are not being operated properly. The showers and toilets are throughly cleaned each day after each booking. It is more than likely that other clients had used the shower rooms before your arrival - we simply cannot clean the showers / toilets after every use.

We do not have pans under the toilets but we do occassionally have plastic containers under the metal fittlings to catch any condensation drips - which can happen when there is colder weather and and all the heat is turned up.

We cannot see how there could be stains on the bedding as this freshly changed and laundered after each booking.

You may have misunderstood our cleaner as unhelpful - her English was limited and she was very reliable. Certainly one of the bets we have had over a number of years.

Regretfully you comments simply do not stack up with independent comments we receive from clients elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This isnt the worse place to stay in the world. it was reasonably clean and was the right kind of place if youre gonna be dragging in your mucky boots but just be prepared to meet the two rudest people on the planet. dont expect a warm welcome from these two! they are so so so very strange and rude. they give off the vibe that they instantly hate you and that you are severely inconveniencing their lives by your existence! we used the smiddy bunkhouse for a night's stay after Ben Nevis, and it was ideal for that purpose. use of the kitchen, etc was really handy. just dont expect the owners to be anything but rude and unappreciative of your custom!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The other reviews seem a little harsh, so I thought I would offer my experience.

At the end of the day, this is a bunkhouse, so don't expect the Hilton. It is low cost accommodation, with quite a few bunks crammed into each dorm. The bedding is clean, the bathroom is disappointing, with the kitchen adequate for us.

Our only mistake was not checking that the dorm would be shared with others and we had the unfortunate experience of a work excursion partying until 5am, not accepting that we all had a right to a decent night's sleep. The next night was a joy though, with some nice foreign compatriots to share with.

We didn't have any issues finding the office. Let's face it, if you can't find it, don't bother thinking about climbing Ben Nevis....

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redspecial2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
8.1 mi away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 33 in Fort William
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 33 in Fort William
283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
Glen Nevis Youth Hostel
#28 of 33 in Fort William
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
2.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel

Address: Station Road, Fort William PH33 7JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing