We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very homely pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ben Nevis Inn

Ben Nevis Inn
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Fort William
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very homely pub grub”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went for a post New Years lunch and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great tasting food, nice friendly Scottish service and a warm fire. A very unpretentious good meal and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    337
    65
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food in a great setting”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Warm and welcoming atmosphere made wonderful by hearty tasty food at middle of the road prices. Well worth the short trip of 1mile off the main road.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mavis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“stunning atmosphere & the best kids room Ever!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

V good food.
Beautiful location.
Intelligent play area for kids upstairs.
Great staff.
Good value with nice beers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EcoFarming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprising restaurant - looks like it should have been more budget”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were at first dubious about this restaurant as it was at the bottom of Ben Nevis and therefore thought it would have wanted to cash in on ALOT of passing trade and be more like a canteen. We couldn't have been more surprised - it was some of the best food we ate in the whole of Scotland on a 2 week trip. The food was Scottish themed was the chicken and haggis rumbledethumps were devine.

They have a local band which played on the night we were there which I understand is a weekly thing. They really added to the atmosphere - just wish they had a CD!

The layout is long benches and therefore if you are looking for intimacy, probably not the place for you but if looking for an awesome meal with great service and fun atmosphere, head on down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“bit out of town, but worth it!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We ate here after seeing the great reviews on tripadvisor. It was a rainy, cold evening so we were happy to be inside & seated right by the fire. Food was nice, atmosphere good. It is just a little way out of town, so you would need to drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Nevis Inn also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
Fort William, Lochaber
 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Ben Nevis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing