We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7am - Blue skies and no staff to be seen...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort William Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Too busy getting pissed up the night before (certainly sounded like it from the dorm above the lounge) or just 'slept through the alarm'? Not for me to say but for a hostel in the mountains to leave guests waiting for someone to appear at reception so that they can leave to get into the hills was disappointing. Especially when the snow came in later that day. Didn't ask for much and didn't get it. Can only hope this was a one-off.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minimumstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 193 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great place with cool staff and great views. Looks great in the rain. Some nights can be totally off the wall with music and dancing and haggis eating contests. In the summer it can be really busy but the staff seem to deal well with this and always have a smile,
The location is nice as well with a lovely view towards the Great Glen and towards Locheil.
there is a fire pit out the back of the house which was put to great use with folk sitting around drinking and singing and generally having a time.
I would recommend this hostel to anyone who enjoys a laid back time but not to hipster party animals who cannot hold their drink!

Room Tip: 4 and 6 do not get early morning light. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff here is super awesome and the vibe is really cool and cozy. There are multiple lounge areas, and one had a nice fire place going with super comfy couches and people were jamming out playing instruments. I highly recommend this place, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_papadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights there in a dormitory which was rather clean. Andy, who ran the hostel at that time, was very friendly and gave us good advice to discover the area. You can enjoy the terrace outside and get to know the other backpackers there; also the atmosphere was really friendly and relaxed.
good location, near the town centre, with a car park in the front ward.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Au R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Fort William Backpackers is a typical hostel you'll find anywhere in the world. On a location with a great view, in an old Victorian style house and walking distance from the city centre.
The house is quite run-down, with a cosy living room with a fire place. The accommodation upstairs (dorms) are old and a bit dusty. The bathrooms are terrible, the showers are too small, dirty and the tap is not working correctly so either the water is terribly hot or freezing cold.
The kitchen is basic and serves a very basic breakfast at 2 GBP.
For the price it costs I would think twice to go there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _Frog_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hostel was booked for a group of friends whist we did a bit of local walking. Close to the town centre and rail/bus station, this hostel appeared ideal for our purpose. The staff were friendly enough but the hostel felt tired and in need of a bit of cash being spent on it's core assets. Rooms are unisex with little storage and functional beds with thin foam matresses and bedding at the end of their life. The two operational showers were clean but difficult to control with he shower room toilets being cramped and bit wobbly. The kitchen is functional but also tired.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 780DavidR780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a great hostel to access Ben Nevis. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there's a lot of information around to help you plan your day. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, although the showers were tiny and it was a bit tricky to hang your clothes without them getting wet. Pretty small bathrooms for males and females to share. The mattresses were a bit thin but I was still able to sleep ok. There are not any lockers. The common areas are comfortable and there's great views. It's small but good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tams79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#15 of 21 in Fort William
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort William Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort William Backpackers

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Price Range: $32 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the Highlands, surrounded by spectacular mountain scenery lies Fort William, the Outdoor Capital of the UK and a mecca for those with a spirit of adventure. Nestling on a hillside above the town, with wonderful views, our characterful and comfy hostel provides everything you'll need after a day in the hills. In the evening put your feet up in our sociable, elegant lounge in front of a real fire or stroll down to the choice of local pubs and restaurants that are literally minutes away. You can start (or end) the 'West Highland Way' & the 'Great Glen Way' in Fort William, hike or bike along mountain trails, canoe or kayak on the vast array of local water, go for a boat trip on Loch Linnhe to visit the seals or just take it easy amidst the wonderful scenery. Even in winter Fort William stays busy with skiing, snow-boarding, mountaineering & ice-climbing all nearby to our fantastic location.Ben Nevis - Britain's highest mountain, sits just around the corner and below it, Glen Nevis - perhaps Scotland's prettiest glen, with its wonderful waterfalls and ancient pine forest. Dramatic and eerie, Glencoe & Glenfinnan, and the Ice Factor in Kinlochleven also await a few miles down the road and make excellent day trips from the hostel. Our friendly award winning staff are committed to ensuring you make the most out of your time in Fort William. They also LOVE the outdoors and can give you their 'top tips' to help you plan your adventure. Whether you plan to chill out or perhaps test your skills on a World Cup mountain bike trail...Fort Willy Backpackers is the place for you! Fort William Backpackers is a beautiful Victorian building with a fun, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We know how important it is to be able to relax after a hard days exploring and our cosy hostel is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries and share the tales of your adventures.We have a fabulous, elegant lounge with a REAL open fire and probably the best view in town! Our fully equipped self-catering kitchen comes complete with everything you will need to prepare your meals & packed lunches and you can help yourself to as much FREE tea, coffee & hot chocolate as you can drink!If the weather's good, we'll be outside enjoying our patio area either having a BBQ or sitting around the fire pit enjoying the stars so come and join us. Our accommodation is made up of 5 Dormitory Rooms ,with a maximum of 8 beds in each room, and one private Twin Room. All of our beds are fully made up with fitted linen and 2 pillows so there is no need to bring your sleeping bag. Our hostel reception is open from 7am - 12pm & 5pm - 10.30pm. If you arrive in the afternoon, please feel free to leave your bags, help yourselves to a cup of tea and relax in our comfy lounge. We will check you in when we re-open at 17.00. We look forward to welcoming you to Fort William and our cosy hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fort William Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort William Backpackers Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing