We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't dare to point out problems....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben View Guest House

Ben View Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ben View Guest House
Ranked #76 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just don't dare to point out problems....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

Checked in late after a long drive and managed to get the last room available but didn't sleep at all as the mattress was on a slope and every time i dropped off I started to feel like I was falling out! Everything else in the hotel was fine...clean etc.

Problem was when I was checking out I mentioned this to Mrs Smith in the mistaken belief she'd want to check it out and fix it for future guests. Well, imagine my surprise when she started yelling at me and then wouldn't accept payment and practically threw my out the door! Totally bizaare behaviour.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

All staff there were very friendly room was clean and comfortable bed nice full breakfast

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmylouiseEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

A lovely guest house. Mrs. Smith is a natural hotelier, if there ever was one. Comfortable, well organized with a very nice breakfast the next morning.
The standout was walking in on a rainy night and the house smelled of fresh cut flowers. The large arrangement was as beautiful to look at as it smelt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

A late decision to book a hotel/ guest house in Fort William resulted in everywhere being full however we did manage to get two double rooms at the Ben View. Perfectly situated and only 5 minutes from the centre and off street parking. Very easy to find and a warm welcome from Catherine.

The room was small but perfectly formed. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not for you however if you are looking for good value for money and a cosy place to rest, this is ideal.

As per previous ratings, yes, this place is old fashioned and has a feeling like you are going into your Grannies house, but that to us was the beauty of it! We were made to feel very welcome and right at home.

We have already discussed our next trip and that we would like to take more friends to stay at the Ben View.

Thanks Catherine and your team :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MagsC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2008

The only way to describe this property is.... A KIP!!!

Horrible dated decor, last re furbished in the mid 70's. Mould in the bathroom, with accompanying damp smell.

Breakfast staff very stand offish and unfriendly, the only place I have ever been that I had to pre order breakfast.

The only saving grace - walking distance to the town centre.

Would not return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Damp smell and decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton on the Water
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

A friendly, clean, quiet and well located guest house, 5 minutes level walk from Fort William's main street. Good hearty cooked breakfasts, juices, cereals, yogurts, fruit and porridge. Off road parking. Very close to railway station (but no problem with noise). Would definitely use again. Good value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. Friendly staff. Good location.
  • Disliked — Not being able to pay by credit card.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#14 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Thistle Cottage
Thistle Cottage
#2 of 5 in Torlundy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ben Nevis Guest House
#23 of 120 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben View Guest House

Property: Ben View Guest House
Address: Belford Road, Fort William PH33 6ER, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Ben View Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing