We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B in Fort William”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Torlinnhe Guest House
Ranked #4 of 120 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Fort William”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location is walking distance from City center, hosts Andy & Sue are amazing! Breakfasts is scrumptious! Rooms are clean, big and comfortable. Can't say enough about this place, but try it to have some true Scottish Hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LochFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Coming from a professional in the hospitality industry that really is an accolade! Thank you LochFinn. We are glad you were comfortable during your time with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK just as much. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in Fort William.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
257
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was an excellent stay - our hosts, Sue and Andy, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. From the time we entered to the time we left, we were looked after, but also allowed our space. The breakfasts were excellent (I'm going to have to mail order some of that black pudding!) and were served with a smile and some wit - always good to start the day with a smile. Andy kindly gave us a lift to the station on Saturday morning, saving us a cab fare, and Sue left us some glasses out in the evening so we could chill out with the wonderful view from the lounge area. The rooms are spacious enough and the bathroom was better than ours at home! So many little touches - like the tea and biccies on arrival - made this just a super stay, and my only regret was that I had to leave - I just know we'll have to go back sometime though.
Thanks Sue and Andy for everything - you really deserve to be No.1 on here.

Room Tip: They're all lovely! Room 2 is at the front so does get a little traffic noise - only a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabeNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hope you got the black pudding OK BabeNo1 - it really is good stuff isn't it? It comes from Stornoway so I suppose stretches the definition of local produce a little but it is still Scottish and it is the best! Glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the view through the lounge window, it is a constantly changing vista and well worth a few minutes to just watch and relax each day. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Please don't hesitate to book this outstanding B&B. It is spacious, light and airy, spotlessly clean, very well appointed, with brilliant mattresses and with fabulous breakfasts!

Thank you Sue and Andy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1, the triple, with fabulous, front-facing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Well The_Tinseltowns, that is an accolade! Don't know what to say except thank you of course. It is good to hear that the mattresses and the breakfasts were both up to standard - after all it is what we do - provide the best Bed and Breakfast we can for our guests! We hope to see you again sometime soon. If you avoid going anywhere else we will always be the best B&B you have stayed in and your review will always be true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Absolutely ideal in every way. The hosts Andy and Sue were extremely friendly, informative and hospitable. The place was spotless, modern and had a large parking area. Amazing view from the lounge and only two minutes away from the high street

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jparmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
What a kind review jparmar! Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. There's still lots more to see and do in the area. Can't promise another impromptu whiskey tasting though :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

You can read all the other great things about Torlinnhe in other reviews...great rooms, great view, great breakfast, etc. I am really writing to say that Sue fulfilled a dream for us! When we checked in for 2 nights, we told Sue that we would love to see Ardverikie, the estate in the Monarch of the Glen Scottish TV series that we are so nuts about. She understood, because a friend of hers felt the same and had persuaded her to take a quad bike tour. Sue immediately got on the phone and we got a PRIVATE tour of the estate the following day...a Sunday, no less, with Quad Bike Tours. We took the Scenic 4 x 4 Land Rover tour, and it was absolutely amazing. Sue's kindness and Ian's tour will be forever locked in our memories! Oh, we also asked if we could meet Sue's dogs, and they are just beautiful. You'll love Torlinnhe, Sue, Gordon, and the dogs.

Room Tip: Lake view in the front was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks MJinItaly for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad we were able to help make your stay special. You were lucky to get the full private tour of the estate and all the film locations at such short notice! Glad to hear you found your stay at Torlinnhe enjoyable if not quite as exciting perhaps as it would have been to stay at Ardverikie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We travelled to Fort William to do a practise walk of Ben Nevis as we’re doing the 3 Peaks Challenge later this summer. Andy and Sue were the perfect hosts – tea and coffee on arrival and an array of delicious biscuits. The room we had was lovely and very comfortable – brilliant shower – and the breakfast was AMAZING. Although it’s a 20min walk to the town centre Andy and Sue are happy to drive you down to the town, so long as it’s before 7:30pm. Highly recommend staying here if you’re visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks Sarah R for your kind review. Hope you manage the three peaks OK (if you haven't already). We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully carrying a substantial Torlinnhe breakfast up the hill with you on your practice walk didn't cause too much extra effort. You need a decent start to the day if you are going to take on challenges like the Ben. Thanks for the recommendation, it is much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked this B&B as part of a birthday gift for my dad. I had booked the Jacobite Steam Train so I was keen to get accommodation reasonable close to the town centre. My parents rated it highly and would definately recommend to friends. It was clean friendly and provided a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMK_Fortwilliam, Owner at Torlinnhe Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you Gail B for your review. We are glad your parents enjoyed their stay - especially as it was part of your father's birthday celebrations. It is good to hear you would recommend us and hopefully we will see you all again one day. We are slightly concerned we did not earn five blobs for cleanliness and service at least but we will try even harder next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
4.2 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torlinnhe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torlinnhe Guest House

Property: Torlinnhe Guest House
Address: Torlinnhe Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlinnhe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andy and Sue's aim is to ensure all their guests experience B&B hospitality at its best. Torlinnhe has six bright, contemporary bedrooms, a triple, two twins, two doubles and a single room - all with en-suite shower rooms, 26” digital TVs, DVD players and free wi-fi access. Situated on the shores of Loch Linnhe, just over a mile from Fort William town centre, there are spectacular views from the guest lounge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torlinnhe Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing