We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - we will stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ranked #17 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had a very warm welcome from Janet on arrival and were shown to a lovely 2nd floor room. Nicely decorated and spotless. Lots of local info provided both in the room and the entrance hall.
At breakfast there was a wide choice of cereal and yoghurts and a good choice of cooked breakfast. Janet went around each table asking how we all were and giving valuable info when asked about local sites.
All in all a lovely stay and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn_hardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 184 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2011

The best thing about this guest house is its location (right at the bottom of Ben Nevis). Sadly, it’s been a long time since I visited a guest house where we were left feeling so unwelcome!

Not one of our party of 5, is likely to recommend this spot based on our experience (but sadly bus loads of tourists are still likely to descend on it – based on its location alone).

Clean, and basic in terms of comfort (i.e. nothing special), our biggest gripe with this guest house relates to our hosts, who made us feel like we were inconveniencing them from our arrival until our departure, in all regards and with every question and request. Unfriendly and grumpy (in contrast to so many wonderful spots we have stayed in Scotland), the final straw was the small laminated card stuck on the front door minutes before our departure (“laminated”: suggesting this is not as spontaneous an event as they may have tried to persuade us it was), requesting payment in cash – the card machine being “out of action”, although no attempt was made at any point prior to departure to notify us of this inconvenience. We were instead asked to drive down to the local ATM to draw the required cash owed. After making more than a bit of a fuss about this (given we were in a rush to depart) – the machine made a miraculous “come-back”.

And so – my recommendation should you choose to stay here none the less – avoid asking your hosts any unnecessary questions and draw cash in advance for your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieHyde_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at this guest house for four nights in May, although the weather was dreadful the guest house was welcoming and warm just like the owners. The room was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were very friendly and helpful taking time to talk to each guest after breakfast had been served every morning. The only slight niggle was that we could hear the TV in the next room very early in the morning which was a bit annoying apart from that we would definitely recommend this guest house and would stay again when we travel back to Fort William.

Room Tip: Comfortable and Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardyerwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stopped here at both the start and finish of my family trip on the West Highland Way.

Both times in the family room , no complaints big bathroom , plenty of towels and coffee etc in the room. The breakfast was good and well served. The owner giving plenty of local knowledge if required. Private parking right outside and only a short walk into town.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skipper9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

8 of us stayed for 2 nights and all of us were very impressed. Janet and Graeme were very friendly and informative of the local area. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and most importantly clean. Breakfast and service were first class. Ample parking and location was great - less than a 5 minute drive to the foot of Ben Nevis a 5 minute walk to the nearest pub and 10 minute walk to the town centre. Red hot radiators to dry our wet clothing and always hot water available for baths and showers. We would love to return one day. Had a great time in Fort William and most importantly conquered THE Ben!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daleb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed in the Family Room for 2 nights. We really liked it. The area was very good, within walking distance to Fort William Centre. Also, a very good location to visit Ben Nevis Area!! Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Parking is no problem. Would recommend this lodging!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikezam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at this B&B for 1 night after a long end to a hard week doing the west highland
way..we were all cold when we arrived when we went to our room the room was cold
and very basic..

There was 3 sharing a bath or shower and after the 1st one used the bath there was no hot water we had to wait after the 2 nd one had a bath, we agin had to wait till the water
heated up by this time we were fed up, we had stayed at places all week that had instant
hot water and were very comfortable even the youth hostel was better than this place..

We were leaving early for a train so we could not get breakfast no provision was made for us, unlike other guest houses that had made sure we had something to eat before
we left early each day....

Very dissapointing place to stay..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank l7tum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.2 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,000 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Guest House

Address: Glen Nevis Road, Fort William PH33 6PF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Price Range: $115 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Highland welcome awaits you from your hosts Steve and Cathy Day, owners of this 6 bedroomed family run guest house in Fort William. Our aim is to offer you comfortable well equipped bedrooms, a great breakfast using quality local produce served in a bright and cheery conservatory, friendly service with good knowledge of the local area of Ben and Glen Nevis. The Ben Nevis Guest House has an excellent location at the start of beautiful Glen Nevis, an area of outstanding Natural Beauty with Ben Nevis, Britain's highest mountain only 1 mile away. Fort William town centre is only a 10 minute walk with its selection of pubs, restaurants & shops, and bus/rail stations. With its superb location, look no further for Bed & Breakfast. Perfect walkable base for climbing Ben Nevis, cyclists welcome with lockable storage, great for families with multiple bedded rooms, or a cosy room for a romantic highland getaway. We offer a self drying room service with lockable storage for bikes and equipment, free Wi-Fi in rooms and have ample free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ben Nevis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Guest House Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing