We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Luxury Apartments”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canalside Holiday Apartments
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury Apartments”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just returned from our 6th visit to these luxury apartments.We always get a friendly welcome from Frances she makes you feel part of her family and is always on the end of her mobile should you need any help.These luxury apartments are spotless and everything is provided from dishwashing tablets to bed linen, also a garden shed for bikes.Easy parking.Frances provides a welcolm pack of tea, coffee, milk and shortbread just what you need after a long journey.We would strongly recommend these apartments for a relaxing holiday at an affordable price in the Highlands of Scotland.Location is great with a view of Ben Nevis from the kitchen window also Neptunes staircase where you can view the boats on the canal.We have booked again for May 2013

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isobellmitchell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

These apartments are brilliant everything has been provided for your needs. They are immaculate in every way. I have stayed here for four years I will definitely be returning next year. The owner Frances is very helpful and a nice person to deal with. The location of the apartments is great overlooking Ben Nevis and only a few miles outside Fort William. The Moorings hotel next to apartments serves excellent food and staff very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TimNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

First off we received a very friendly welcome from the lady of the manor Frances. The apartments were spotless and had all mod cons to ensure a comfortable stay. Location is excellent with Neptunes Staircase just a stones throw away and Ben Nevis as a backdrop. I would recommend the train journey from Banavie (5 min walk) to Mallaig. All in all the 10 of us had a ball and were trying to work out dates to return ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Immaculately clean and modern with everything you could think of in the kitchen- very modern hob, oven, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, toaster, fridge, freezer, tv, dvdplayer. Wifi. Everything well maintained and excellent shower! Frances was very welcoming and gave us lots of local information - she had even bothered to find the numbers of kayak companies for us. Shame the apartments are right on the road but it's not very busy and on the plus side next to a nice hotel which does very good and reasonably priced food. Close to supermarkets in Fort William for supplies and petrol. Overall a beautiful apartment- we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizdavies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The apartment was ideally located for us and very equipped and furnished. Extremely cosy atmosphere, had everything we needed. Although we had a small apartment, it actually felt very spacious due to the layout and use of space: and there were 5 of us! Luxuriously finished with all mod cons and also very suitable for kids (furniture very durable, sofa survived being bounced on!). We particularly appreciated the washing machine & tumbler drier, dvd player (kept the kids happy) and the free wifi - particularly useful with the unpredicable local weather!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I found Canalside on the Internet whilst looking for cottages in Scotland. I got in contact with the owner Frances who was really helpful with my enquiry. Me and my husband and our 2 children stayed over for Christmas. There are so many breath taking sights in fort William. The people are very friendly. If you have young children I recomend visting fairy glen, beautiful streams, good view of one of the many lochs and also beautiful enchancing wood land. I would definetly go back

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at these fantastic apartments on a 3 night break. The apartment was immaculate and we wanted for nothing!!

We definitely would recommend anyone to stay at these apartments and we have already booked for next year!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonaldAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort William hotels
1.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 120 in Fort William
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#10 of 30 in Fort William
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canalside Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canalside Holiday Apartments

Property: Canalside Holiday Apartments
Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Fort William
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star luxury 2 bedroom apartments and 3 bedroom townhouses situated on the Caledonian canalside at Neptune's Stairway, Banavie, Fort William. They are decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer comfort and luxury during your holiday or short break. There is private parking, bike racks and a shared garden/seated area next to the canal. Spectacular views of Ben Nevis and Nevis Range are enjoyed from Canalside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canalside Holiday Apartments Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing