We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of The Snow Goose

The Snow Goose
Ranked #101 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Snow Goose offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A busy friendly place let down by the food. What we had was nice, but just not enough. Small portions served on enormous plates do not look good. Also why does everyone think veggies don't eat much and that they like a bowl of soggy mush? Come on chefs be a bit imaginative!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purplegoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    354
    216
    179
    202
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friends and I visited the Snow Goose for an early evening dinner before going to Vue Cinema at the retail park. We did make the staff aware that we had tickets for the movie but sadly the service was shocking; the waiting staff seemed to have no idea what to do, the food was awful; I ordered a steak and Merlot pie, there was two or three pieces of beef in it covered in a watery gravy; I complained and received my money back after paying my part of the bill. The Snow Goose used to be a nice restaurant but I'm not sure what has happened to it, the food is WAY overpriced for what you get, the waiting staff could do with some lessons on exactly what they should be doing and the prices could do with come down a bit. Maybe the proprietors of the Snow Goose should be reading reviews on here and take the comments into consideration. My friends and I were totally unimpressed with the whole experience, we will definitely NOT be heading back to the Snow Goose, all in all a terrible evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch venue”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch next to a lovely warm fire when it was freezing outside. Food was very nice at a very reasonable price. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. I cannot recommend it more

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scothenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A long wait if you eat here!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

On entering we were quickly shown to a table and an order for drinks taken, when they arrived we ordered our food, the restaurant was not busy.
The waitress passed our table on numerous occasions but did not offer any hint on when our food would be served, the manager circled frequently without a sideways glance, or thought that our order had not been served.
The waitress was asked why we were waiting so long, apart from the "you will be served soon" without checking in the kitchen, the manager was no better, saying it would be there in 2 minutes, it wasn't so we left. Take sandwiches to keep you going until your meal arrives!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Good Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Comprehensive Menu & Wine List - plenty to choose from and fairly priced.

Friendly, helpful staff. Nice atmosphere and decor. Attractive garden. Building looked ancient - but obviously is a modern copy - well executed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kangarookards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Snow Goose also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Snow Goose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing