We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit hit and miss”
Review of Proper Pasties - CLOSED

Proper Pasties
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 14, 2017

Have occasionally had a nice pasty out of here, but sometimes they are just full of slop. Now selling a wider range of stuff than they used to. Often sold out of stuff mid afternoon. Easy to find in a central location.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (4)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Warm and soft but still crispy chocolate twist. The meat pie smells quite good although I didn't try it. Worth a top-star esp when I'm starving =]

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank MelanieZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Bought a steak pasty here for lunch. Now, being steak, you'd expect to have at least a few bits of steak in it, wouldn't you? This was a 'virtual steak' pasty. Thick claggy pastry, and slimy, sloppy veg contents, which seemed to be in a kind of sauce. Found one piece of steak, which was about 1cm across, and a large piece of gristle, which was about 2cm across. At £3, that's pretty poor value.

I can assure you that this was absolutely NOTHING like a true Cornish pasty, and the makers should be ashamed to be selling this as one. Cornish pasties are crisp, tasty, moreish, with a blanket of meat covering the whole of the contents. How do I know? I spent 10 years living in Cornwall, had a Cornish Mother-in-Law, and make Cornish pasties myself. Don't judge true Cornish pasties by this rubbish product - go to Cornwall and try a 'proper job' for yourself. They should be ashamed to be abusing the name of such an amazing product in this way. Steer clear and spend your money on something tasty instead.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

We were just walking back and listing to a 10 yr. old boy playing bagpipes on the corner. We smelled something good and ventured in to find fresh baked pastries from Cornwell. Beef, chicken, vegetarian all delicious and a welcome treat that is hard to find in the states.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gloria347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proper Pasties also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing