We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glendruith House Hotel”
Review of Glendruidh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glendruidh House
Ranked #91 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Glendruith House Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed for one night whilst in the area on business.
Easy to find and in a quiet locatio yet not too far out of town.
Room was very nice and different from usual hotels. Felt very warm and homely. The wife would definately approve. Host was helpful and pleasant throughout my stay.
I ate evening meal at the hotel which was cooked fresh and tasted very nice with fresh veg and washed down with a couple of bottles of bitter.
The bed was comfy and I slept right through.
Breakfast was excellent. Plenty to last the day without lunch. The food was fantastic and the host again friendly but not over the top.
I will definately stay again when back in the area as this is great value hotel with a different feel to the norm.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a restful, quiet and peaceful stay. You mentioned your wife would approve, bring her along next time. Thank you for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
10
44
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 27 & 28 March 2014. Room was beautifully decorated and absolutely spotless. Lets face it, anyone can provide a nice room, however what made the stay a highlight of our UK trip was the personalised service. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel welcome, ensuring there was soya milk available for breakfast and suggesting the most breathtakingly beautiful drive around the West coast of Scotland. Highly recommend you stay here when visiting Inverness

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your drive around the West coast. There are so many beautiful drives from Inverness and I get great pleasure from helping our guests get the most out of their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I recently stayed at this "hotel" and was very disappointed by the service and the value for money. There are far better places to stay in Inverness for less money and this hotel is highly overrated. We chose this hotel as we thought we would spend a little extra and treat ourselves. But!!! With so many rules and regulations, the owner standing over you whilst you eat breakfast, and the room not cleaned to anyone's standards we were left very disappointed. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice or even CLEAN break away!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are always very sorry to receive a poor review. Thankfully id doesn't happen too often. Obviously something went wrong with your stay and we regret you did not enjoy your stay with us. You mention too many rules. Not sure what they are as we are failrly relaxed. I can only think you mean the meal times. We serve breakfast for up to two hours in the morning and an evening meal for up to two hours in the evening. We serve food only from fresh produce and we start cooking this food once you have oredered it both for breakfast and evening meal. We are a small establishment and like to stick to fresh food freshly prepared, this does limit the time and most people find this acceptable. Idid take your comment about me standing in the dining room looking over you seriously. When things are quiet and the dining room is not full it is always a difficult balance to being there if you want more coffee or toast and abandoning you once your breakfast has been served. I obviously got this wrong. You mentioned you found your room not clean. This has never been mentioned in any review as the rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day. The only time a room is not cleaned is when a guest decides to spend the day in their room. This is so as not to disturb the guests. However clean towells, tea and coffe are available. Once again we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you had mentioned some of this at the time to have given us the opportunity to put some of your complaints right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slamannan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Please be aware, if you book this hotel and you have any emergencies in your life, with this owner it is business as usual. My husband has been in hospital for two weeks and I have been run ragged looking after him. Michael from the hotel was useless, took full payment from my account without as much as a call. Heaven forbid that anything drastic happens in his life. Very disappointed. I will stop recommending this hotel to any of my work mates or friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Not sure what the problem was here. I think you must have booked through an online booking agency and not turned up for your booking. If this is the case you would have been charged the full amount which is usual for a no show. We have after all held the room for you. This is in line with our booking conditions. We also new nothing about your problems at home. All we knew was you had booked a room and not turned up. We didn't know why you didn't turn up for your booking. This can be a problem when booking through a third party. Once we charged for the no show we would have sent you an e mail telling you we had charged you and asking you if would like any further paperwork to claim on your travel insurance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gairloch, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A charming, and architecturally interesting building (Georgian?) set in a mature garden which was adrift with snowdrops when we arrived on Valentines Day. Very clean and stylishly comfortable rooms . Michael is a great host and his Gallery bar features his own interesting local photographs to look at while you eat and drink. Breakfast (like the bar menu) features unpretentious fresh home-made food, and little touches like honey and tomato juice were at hand and did not have to be specially requested. The porridge and full Scottish breakfast were faultless as was the quality of the tea and coffee. Well sited for Culloden and Loch Ness trips too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We're all so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind comments give us all boost. Your comments are exactly what we aim to achieve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Luckily the Premier Inn was full and we had to cast the net a little wider and we found this place.
Character rather than faceless duplication.
Lovely decor and delightful pictures all over the walls.
Personal service rather than rushed indifference.
A lovely freshly made breakfast rather than pre-heated blandness.
Need I say more?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigavonCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Premier Inns loss was our gain. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and what is more understood what we try to achieve. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The whole place is just beautiful.The rooms are spacious and clean the grounds are well kept. Our breakfast was cooked just the way I like it ( runny poached eggs ) and our host was very informative on all subjects from the history of the town and its surrounds to where to find the best restaurants. We would recommend Glendruid House anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendruidh, Owner at Glendruidh House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed our house as much as we do. I do try to keep people informed as to what is worth visiting in the area. Often this can be over breakfast and I understand some people like to be left alone over breakfast. I'm pleased I managed to get right with you and I hope I managed to help you get the most out of yourstay with us. The cooking I can take no credit for, that is all down to Christine my wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
2.9 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#19 of 231 in Inverness
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royston Guest House
Royston Guest House
#71 of 231 in Inverness
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Drumdevan Private Hotel
Drumdevan Private Hotel
#55 of 231 in Inverness
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#39 of 231 in Inverness
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendruidh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendruidh House

Property: Glendruidh House
Address: Druid House Old Edinburgh Road South, Inverness IV2 6AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glendruidh House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, friendly and private, although only two miles from the centre of Inverness. Unique mainly Victorian building situated amongst gardens and woodlands. Comfortable bar, relaxing sitting room and a great Scottish breakfast using locally sourced fresh produce. rooms and suites, ample private parking. No Smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glendruidh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendruidh House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing