We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great food”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 257 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lunch time menu was delicious - great staff who are so smartly dressed (makes a big difference). The restaurant is set in an old church or warehouse and is lovely with a big wood stove set in the centre.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RealMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,930
    830
    245
    84
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“romantic”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Took my girlfriend here for Valentines day and we were not disappointed. The serves was great and the food was fantastic. We had a few too many glasses of wine, ate some really superb food and paid a respectable price for it all. A very lovely experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SJMwasHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was by myself and quite early, so I had the early dinner choice. The staff was super helpful and full of touristy info as well. The food was excellent and at a great price as well.
I'll be back and will recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hetty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After walking around the city looking for a nice place to have dinner we found this place, it was an early dinner (around 5), we walk in and we were seated by the terrace in a beautiful spot within seconds. Service was great and food excellent, portions are adequate and menu has enough options to please any customer. I can say this was one of the best meals in our UK trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliana70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is so popular there's not much chance of getting in if you haven't made a reservation. Unfortunately, due to the size of our party, we were unable to fit on the first floor balcony, from where lovely views of the river can be had, but there's quite a lot to look at inside as well. The menu changes every week, so it can be a bit disappointing if you see something you really, really fancy the week before, but there is always plenty of choice and for the quality of food the prices are excellent. We were a large, and awkward, party but our waitress remained cheerful and friendly while juggling all our orders and thoroughly deserved our tip. The service was efficient and fast. They also have local ales in bottle. I could do with somewhere like this nearer to where I live!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lancysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing