We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good night”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 255 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A really good night”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had dinner on a Sunday when many others were closed. The food was great and it was so good to see people being received and looked after even after 10pm. It is about time the UK caught up with the rest of the world and stopped forcing us to eat by 8.30! The Mustard Seed is jolly, interesting, fun and has a great menu. I want to visit the sister restaurant next time I am in Inverness and maybe sit on thew balcony at Mustard Seed if the weather is ever warm enough!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,865
    802
    217
    79
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious and a Great Value”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stopped in around 2pm for lunch and it was still very busy. I would highly recommend making reservations. Restaurant is in a great location along the Ness River. We (family of three) opted for the 2 course menu for £6.95. Great value for the money.The carrot soup was delicious as was my order of Sautéed red cabbage, onion, apple and Dutch feta turnover with a date purée. Both my husband and daughter were very pleased with their meals as well. Service was friendly and efficient even though they were very busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeiaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was the most enjoyable dinner of our trip. The servers were attentive without being intrusive. The wine pairing with the steaks was delicious. The venison was cooked better than anything we’ve ever had (which is high praise). If this restaurant were in our home town, we would be fat but not broke as the prices were very reasonable for the quality of produce. Loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LePetitMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner here always excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good menu and good choice. Went here for my 40th in January too as well as dinner and lunch in Dec 12. Would recommend to anyone lovely surroundings, excellent service and good menu choice. my favourite

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank clareg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent, well worth visiting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As we were off to a show later, we went early and selected from the early evening menu.
The menu was great with many appetising choices. The food came well presented, cooked as we had requested, very tasty. No complaints whatsoever. The staff were friendly, attentive ( but not overly so) and the place itself had a very good atmosphere. We will certainly return next time we are in Inverness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donbinchture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing