We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch and dinner here always excellent”

Mustard Seed Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1995, the simple cooking and warm, friendly atmosphere has allowed The Mustard Seed to become one of Inverness’s favourite restaurants. The Location on the banks of the River Ness in a converted church building is simply stunning and helps create the wonderful ambience. The transformation from disused church to restaurant created a unique space; with a double-height ceiling and magnificent open log fire. Many of the original period features were retained and combined with a mix of natural and modern finishes. The addition of the terrace on the top floor allows alfresco dining and uninterrupted views of the River, another amazing asset for the restaurant.
Inverness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner here always excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good menu and good choice. Went here for my 40th in January too as well as dinner and lunch in Dec 12. Would recommend to anyone lovely surroundings, excellent service and good menu choice. my favourite

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank clareg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,831
    788
    214
    70
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent, well worth visiting”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As we were off to a show later, we went early and selected from the early evening menu.
The menu was great with many appetising choices. The food came well presented, cooked as we had requested, very tasty. No complaints whatsoever. The staff were friendly, attentive ( but not overly so) and the place itself had a very good atmosphere. We will certainly return next time we are in Inverness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donbinchture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good food, lovely atmosphere, reasonably priced and friendly staff. Excellent, would definitely visit again. Wish we had eaten here for our dinner meal instead of the kingsmills.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EATOUTLOADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Food amazing, wine priced reasonably. Quality night out. Nice riverfront location, friendly staff.......

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank philip4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

First visited the Mustard Seed on the second night after opening, and have been back many times since, on every visit to Inverness.

It's a bit of a classic.. great food, wine, service, atmosphere and location overlooking the River Ness.

Always try and get a table in the window overlooking the Ness, whether on the ground or first floor.. just adds to the appeal..

What more can I say.. Enjoy..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustard Seed Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Mustard Seed Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing