We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really gone downhill”
Review of Harry Ramsden's - CLOSED

Harry Ramsden's
Cuisines: British, Fast Food
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout, Waitstaff
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really gone downhill”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I went in here on a Tuesday night and expected it to be busy enough, turns out I was the only customer. Never mind, I thought, it's just quiet tonight and the franchise always gives good fish. The service was rubbish, with the waiter asking me if I wanted chips with my fish on the classic supper, which is standard and is the main item on their menu. He then proceeded to bring me weak tea and no bread when the fish came. When I asked him if the bread and butter was coming, he told me I hadn't ordered bread. Again I had to show him the menu where the standard classic supper states is included. All in all very poor service. The fish itself was pretty good but the chips were dry and small with the majority of the plate being tiny crispy bits and not chips. Really poor meal and I can see why the place was empty. If you are in the area, just pass by, it's not what the franchise used to be. Rubbish!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    19
    15
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm & Welcoming.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

grabbed lunch a few weeks back and felt compelled to write a review concerning the food that was recommended to me by the helpful and genuinely friendly waitress that served me.i wasn't sure what to order from the standard menu,a regular occurrence when i eat out,when my waitress (leanne or so her till receipt implied) suggested the chicken salad baguette which came with a hefty serving of chips also.i was skeptical but on her humble recommendation that's what i opted for.i have to say i was thoroughly impressed and genuinely thankful for her choice,everything was spot on,the salad dressing was all very fresh,the chicken was piping hot as were the chips and all for £6.50 which also included unlimited refills on carbonated drinks,it certainly beats many other places for value and quality

i thoroughly enjoyed my trip here,i cannot fault the food or the service and will definitely return in future.thankyou again to leanne who was ever patient and helpful with my queries :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xmikextothexcorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value and Service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

You get a discount when showing your Matalan card in the restaurant.
Great to see Isobel back she runs the restaurant very well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Still good......but.......”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ok, so I rave about this place........I must like it as we eat there on a weekly basis without fail. So why has it lost a star compared to my previous rating?

Quite simply because we were charged an extra 25p for a small chocolate flake which my son asked for with his ice cream!

Come on Harry Ramsdens........if you'd rather we didn't give you our custom week in week out, you only had to say and we'd have gone to the Snowgoose!

Humph! (Come back Isobel.....we NEED you).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Appalling food - avoid”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went for lunch yesterday- quite simply the worst meal I have had in years!
Dried up burger on a stale bun and chips that were a strange yellow colour!
Far worse than any motorway service centre in the 1970s!
Will nevervuse this chain again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christinamarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Ramsden's also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing