We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just lunch, but it is how tasty.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“It was just lunch, but it is how tasty.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

After a walk through Inverness we were looking for a place to eat lunch. Several restaurants passed without enthusiasm. Rocpool encouraged us an interesting two-course lunch menu. We walked in not knowing what to expect. Quick Order from a short card and almost immediately appeared on the table a pitcher of cold water - outside was unusually warm for Scotland (25 C). Immediately after elevenses - fresh bread with butter. First courses are given after a few minutes, but the appearance and taste were worth the wait. Salad with mozzarella and peaches and prawn cocktail were wonderful. For the second course we waited a little longer, but not so impatient. Roast breast of chicken with risotto, spiced lamb brochette and roast fillet of smoked cod - a feast for the eyes, palate and nose. Awesome! And all for less than £ 15 per person. Service efficient, businesslike and not bypassing of lunch guests. We recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiotrQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    242
    62
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
langhorne, pa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Dined here due to TA and travel agent recommendations. Menu was interesting with some unusual choices. Carrot/apricot soup was awesome, even though it sounds strange together. Menu choices a little difficult for a picky eater like me, but the old stand by of linguine and prawns was delicious. All in our party enjoyed their meals which included Halibut and venison. A little pricey for the area but we were on vacation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tammilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Scotland”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited Rocpools with three friends for a celebration meal. On arrival we were greeted and quickly shown to our table where we were again welcomed and given menus. Drinks orders were taken promptly, essential on a hot summer evening and arrived with a basket of delicious home baked breads. As a party we ordered dishes from across the menu for our starters and mains including seafood, salads and chicken.
All were served quickly and portion sizes were reasonable. The quality of all was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal which on reflection was probably the best that we had during our week long visit to Scotland.
This is not a cheap restaurant, expect to pay London suburban prices, but the quality of service and ingredients gives good value
The visit also threw up another first, unisex toilets, which can be disconcerting when first encountered. However the style and layout is in keeping with the high standards elsewhere in this restaurant and the layout makes tasteful use of a restricted space.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Achnacloich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“french rustic food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

no high quality food in here very bland and lacklustre very expensive for what you get better at the Rocpool hotel better food

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dsurt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Difficult to get reservations during the Inverness Highland Games, but worth the wait. Food was delicious and crestive and wine selection was fine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank alreadypacked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing