We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Meal with Work”
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Nairn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas Meal with Work”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have eaten in the Roc Pool many times - each time excellent! We had our Christmas Lunch with work there last Friday and I have to say that this is one of the best meals I have eaten in a long time - the salmon starter was fabulous, the main course of beef was absolutely divine and the honeycomb ice cream sweet to die for! Great company, fabulous food, fantastic wine, outstanding service - can't rate our afternoon highly enough. Thank you and well done. Will be back very soon!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    251
    65
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When is a Roux not a Roux ?”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

When it's the Rocpool Restaurant Inverness on a wet Sunday. I am a great fan of the Roux Brother's various establishments but Sunday's experience was a shocker.
The Rocpool Hotel has a fairly large restaurant we were the only three diners booked in. Two of us selected to go for the fixed menu and one went a la carte. The choice on the set menu was limited, we went for turkey as a main course. The starters were ok at best, but the turkey dish was like a 1970's meal for one.
I don't know who was in the kitchen, unlikely it was the head chef as the restaurant was only expecting the three of us so he probably took the day off. I don't think whoever was in the kitchen was provided with a turkey to carve from, the whole dish was almost certainly pre-plated and heated up. You don't expect this in a restaurant with a Roux tag.
The a la carte order was for sirloin steak medium rare, it arrived medium well and was apparently chewy and tough. It is not difficult to serve a decent steak particularly from the home of the Worlds finest beef.
The vanilla ice cream to finish was very good.
The staff tried their best and were helpful and cheerful, I think it would have been sensible for them and better for us if they had telephoned to say as we were the only booking, it would have given us the option to eat elsewhere, we certainly would not have taken offense. As it was we had a poor experience and a wasted Sunday lunch.
We travelled to the airport for our flight back to London rather disappointed as we had been looking forward to our last meal on this trip to Scotland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always 5 star food and service.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Always get a fantastic welcome at Rocpool. Especially from the lovely Steven. Service fab and the food and wine always 5 star.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaraCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Yet again everything is perfect. Don't look no further in Inverness as this is the best. Food,wine,atmosphere & staff FANTASTIC. See you soon :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great food, great service, just loved it! We stayed for a week in Inverness and came back for our good bye dinner again because it was so outstanding.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhabarberplaetzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing