We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal - well executed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great meal - well executed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'm glad I went. The meal was inventive without being over the top. The scallop with "duck ragu" and pineapple starter was a great combination. The halibut main accompanied by black & white pudding with apple was a nice regional touch, although the mixed shellfish in this dish slightly confused matters. The cheese board was slightly too cold when served, but this resolved itself in 10 minutes. But these are small quibbles from a GREAT meal that demonstrated flair.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFogBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    239
    60
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The reviews were right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner and I ate here on a busy Saturday night after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disapointed!

The scallops and duck ragu starter were an unusual pairing but tasted amazing! As sad in previous reviews the venison main course is stunning! A good rustic dish which was great for a cold night!

Will defnitely be returning soon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DelBoy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rocpool is a wonderful restaurant, but you will need reservations. The food is good, healthy, and interesting. Not your typical UK fare.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandyengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED!!! FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to Rocpool on Saturday and what a fantastic Restaurant. We were very well looked after by all the staff and the manager was faultless. Rocpool were great with our kids especially our fussy eater! Nothing was a problem for them. The food was out of this world, the venison was cooked to perfection and melt in the mouth, deserts were amazing my husband and I both had a desert each that was made to order, Lemon merangue pie and Pear tart......mmmmm beautiful. We will definately make Rocpool a regular when we vist Inverness.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Candybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Need more places like this in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been living in the UK for just over six months now and this restuarant reminds me of going out to dinner in the states. The atmosphere was contemporary, the service was excellent, and the food was delicious. What more can you ask for? From the appetizers to the dessert everything was well presented and tasted so good. Wanted to come back the next day for lunch but they were closed on Sunday. By the way, don't skip dessert!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing