We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was so good, we ate there three nights running!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 251 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was so good, we ate there three nights running!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been lucky enough to eat in some of the best restaurants in the world, including Le Manoir Aux Quatres Saisons, and Raffles in Singapore, and so have really high standards when it comes to food. However, I can honestly say the food here was sublime, such great combinations of flavours, just a little bit different to the usual staples in this type of restaurant. We ended up eating here three days running and every single dish we tried (we ate from both the a la carte and early evening menu) was simply delicious, with lovely wines to accompany them. Special mention must be made of the beef fillet and coconut cheesecake, both were utterly delicious! Staff also are a credit to this place, friendly and chatty without being too over the top. Would certainly return here when we come back to Inverness.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    242
    62
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Food from early evening menu was delicious. Staff were pleasant and attentive on a very busy evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good at best”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We went to Rocpool after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The food is good but I wouldn't say it was great. Like many other reviewers already indicated, the portions are rather small. My husband had the halibut with the soft poached egg. However the halibut was under seasoned and the egg was completely cooked and not soft. I had ordered the linguine with scallops and prawns. Although the dish was tasty the shrimp were not deveined, which was off putting. The staff were accommodating but not overly friendly. The restaurant does have a good atmosphere and if were were in the area we may give it another try but it would not be at the top of our ilst

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islandg1rl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The restaurant staff were eager to please & the food was delicious, worth the money.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank M0rna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best in town.”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A group of 4 of us were booked in for a meal on a Tuesday evening. From the moment we walked in the service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. It was a pleasure to see the staff always smiling, even when they knew they weren’t being watched by the customers. The atmosphere was good, bistro busy but not too loud and the menu had a good selection of dishes and catered for most. The food throughout the evening was excellent, both in taste and presentation. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and will definitely return as there are a number of dishes on the menu that we would like to try. I would have no hesitation in recommending the rocpool to anyone and although not the most inexpensive restaurant in town we left very satisfied and felt it was value for money. Try the grilled king prawns with wild garlic risotto, chorizo sausage & lemon starter – excellent!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gael_Holiday_Homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing