We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Rocpool Restaurant

Rocpool Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Since it opened in 2002, Rocpool Restaurant ha become an effervescent Inverness brasserie with a loyal fan base. A cool contemporary decor with lots of bare wood and bold colours give a buzzy vibe to the restaurant which is situated in a prime site on the banks of the River Ness. The kitchen has a repotoire of eclectic modern dishes which use Scotland's matchless produce sprinkled with Mediterranean sunshine, plus a pinch of exotic spice here and there.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

First visit to this restaurant today and it lived up to expectations. Staff were lovely and food great. We booked in advance stating it was for our wedding anniversary and the staff couldn't have done more for us or make us more welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CononKazakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    251
    65
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Never fails to impress”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I really can't find anything to criticise at Rocpool. Each time we go the food and service is excellent and the menu is always changing. The early evening/pre theatre menu is great value and they always get you out in time. You probably need to book because it is always packed out. The owner seems to be there every time we go and is mucking in with the rest of his staff.
If you are visiting Inverness, don't miss it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The food was wonderful and was accompanied by gorgeous homemade bread. I cannot fault a thing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank snailygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands of scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very nice, very busy restaurant. Food of good quality and service excellent. Pricey. If you have an earlier booking you are informed you only have the table for a certain amount of time which is pretty poor considering you will have spent at least £50 per head.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank juliemaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's full for a reason.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I really only write good reviews as I can't be bothered to write about places I didn't enjoy. I can't add much to the great reviews about this place other than the fact that I eat here on the 20th April so for a short while this is current. I'd heard good things and it did not disappoint. We went in first at 6.30 to bring our reservation forward a little and the place was heaving then--a good sign? It turned out to be. They brought us forward with no complaints to 7.45 when we returned.
The service was very friendly, attentive but also genuine. We picked out a bottle of Spanish white which turned out to be an excellent companion to some great seafood.
I had the scallops followed by the halibut--both of which were really great and get this: hot---so much food seems to come out of restauraunt kitchens luke warm these days, for some unknown reason.
My partner had wild Mushroom soup and some superb lamb which she throughly enjoyed.
If you are looking for somewhere cheap and easy this is not the place for you but if you believe that you have to pay a little bit more to get something excellent then I thought it did that, so in my opinion it was very good value for money as well.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cartersrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocpool Restaurant also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rocpool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing