We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant.”
Review of Culloden House

Culloden House
Ranked #65 of 258 Restaurants in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
322 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Top quality fish, lamb, beef with excellent presentation and a great wine list--they will bring in special fish, lobster, etc. if requested in advance. Excellent service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cosmo144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    13
    0
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Historical House Hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nothing you could not like,With the History,connected to the House,,The Culloden Visitor Centreis a must,and the Battlefield tour..which we done,,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Very Good”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was torn between assigning a "very good" and an "excellent", so consider it hyphenated:-) The venue is lovely, old and classic but edging on "worn" and needing a bit of a fresh updating. Service was good and the food was very good. Pricing was fair as we ordered off of the 3 course special priced menu. I felt portions were a tad small, and although everything was of very high quality, it lacked the creative touch that a couple other very lovely and local establishments have acquired. Consider though, that it was a lunch and not a dinnertime menu that we ate off of. I would definitely go again as it was a lovely experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orlandogal307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven ”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Once again the team come up trumps. Fantastic room --fantastic food -- good old fashioned service with a smile-- great surroundings . What more can you ask for. Thank you again Stephen and your team see you soon we hope. Colin and Ann Grant

Helpful?
Thank pickyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Going down hill rapidly.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked the restaurant as our son and Fiancée were coming to celebrate his birthday and he likes the restaurant - the service has gone down hill as has the quality of the food. Our future daughter in law is vegetarian and has a few food intolerances - the best thing they could come up for the main course was a mediocre stir fry - very disappointing - we other three had steak and they varied in thickness from about 1 1/2 inches to 1/2 inch - very poor quality - previously your drinks were taken through to the restaurant - now we were told from afar our table was ready and we had to take through our own drinks, very disappointing - the bill was over £300 which isn't cheap especially for the quality of the food - oh and they forgot to bring the bread - in comparison we went to Joy of Taste in Inverness two nights later, it cost a third of the price and the service was amazing, we had champagne and our future daughter in law had a two course meal which was delicious. Well done Joy of Taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culloden House also viewed

Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
Inverness, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing