We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent into the "wild"”
other travelers have booked this property
Balnabodach
Please scan the QR code to step inside the virtual tour of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balnabodach
Please scan the QR code to step inside the virtual tour of the cottage
Balnabodach Balnabodach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Balnabodach
Please scan the QR code to step inside the virtual tour of the cottage
Balnabodach
Balnabodach
Balnabodach
Balnabodach
Balnabodach
Balnabodach
View from front of Balnabodach
View from the cottage
A view from the cottage
View as seen from front of cottage
Winter view
Hall and stairs
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
2018 Certificate of Excellence
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Ground floor bedroom with Ensuite
Ground floor Bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Ensuite Shower, washbasin and toilet
Ensuite Shower, washbasin and toilet
Family bathroom
Upstairs Landing
Upstairs landing
Upstairs Double bedroom
Upstairs Twin bedroom
Loch Bunachton
Loch Bunachton
Loch Bunachton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stéphanie...
2 reviews
“Excellent into the "wild"”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It is all what you need for a perfect stay and a lovely neighborhood.
Warm welcome; close enough to Inverness and the famous lochness...where we could see the monster...but the camera was out of battery ...too bad...we will come back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. "Nessie" is waiting for you to return! All good wishes Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Nothing to report
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Many thanks for your kind review. We are fortunate to live in a lovely area. There are plans to resite the pylons in the future so the view will be even better. Look forward to meeting you again next year. Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideally Located”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just returned for a 4 night stay at this cottage. Before we arrived we received clear instruction on how to find the cottage, and what a find it was! Liz greeted us and showed us around the cottage, meaning that we didn't have to worry about how to turn the heating on etc. The cottage was well maintained and very clean - you can tell Liz puts a lot of time and effort into ensuring this. The eggs were a lovely touch as were the biscuits :) Lovely location, so peaceful but only 10 mins from inverness. The property was well equipped. Both our kids really enjoyed staying here, our son had tears in his eyes when we left! We felt at home here and hoping to return one day :) Thanks again Liz (p.s. glad you liked the card)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How clean it was
Liked least: Lack of nighlight upstairs (very dark at night and a worry incase kids fell down the stairs)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2016
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting close to everything
Liked least: The sheep were not tame
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are indeed fortunate to live in perfect isolation but so near to Inverness and many other attractions in the Highlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
choti2014
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect base to explore the Highlands”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In a beautiful situation, but handy for amenities. It was comfortable and we'll kitted out
The hosts were friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. It was good to meet you. Hope to see you again. Best wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K
Sandown, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely quiet cottage”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This was my second stay and it was just as good as the first. I stayed with my partner and young son who both really enjoyed it! Liz and family are very welcoming and extremely helpful. The cottage is in a very beautiful, quiet location and is only a short drive from many attractions. I would recommend this cottage to anyone staying in this area and would defiantly return again myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2016
I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again Best Wishes Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
“home from home”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

fantastic place to stay with everything you may need as in title home from home great views peace and quiet very clean and tidy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. Strathnairn is a special place, we enjoy living here and love it when our guests do too. Best wishes Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing