We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lodging with heart”
Review of Cavell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cavell House
Ranked #73 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 21, 2013

two weeks at cavell house this year, not our first stay
very grateful for the good company of our friendly and generous hosts

the breakfast is first quality and plentiful, including choices for vegetarians (which we enjoyed)
premises are kept exceptionally clean

those visiting the highlands to enjoy (and learn from) the beautiful and traditional celtic spirit may be especially pleased
neil and camilla (and family) are providing more than lodging; they are magnanimous hosts, genuine old school and without pretension

heartful visitors, please take note and give as good as you get!


<3

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Cavell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night in July. Great location near the river and only a short walk into town. The house and rooms have plenty of character and our room was spacious with a big bathroom. Choice and quality of breakfast was extremely good. Only thing I would suggest would be, hire a gardener! First impressions are important and the gardens and car parking area are in need of some attention.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJS268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

nice rooms! warm and quiet. I missed the delicious breakfast so much! Thank you! it was really a good experience for my first time in a B&B. The hostess is really kind and helpful, who prepared breakfast for us as early as 7.30, coz we were leaving at 8.30. 房间很精致,早餐美味,谢谢!如果价格能再稍微便宜点就完美了!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Neil and camila make this place a home from home , I worked in Inverness for a while and stayed here ,i was made most welcome and a friendlier couple you will never meet , I was leaving at odd hours and it was not a problem to them at 3am a breakfast was payed out for me or a packed meal was available ,not a problem to them ,
They both help with making your stay a memorable one , if you need anything or want to go for something special they will know we're or will find out for you
I am the worst person in the world at reverse parking and I was always last in first out ie worst place left to park They kept a space for me or moved there own car for me

Thanks to you both for looking after me

Room Tip: Any room they are all comfy
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tacklebag1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can only reiterate what everyone else has said. The house is lovely with an old time victorian feel. We were a party of 5 people and shared 2 rooms. My room was a large room with a double bed and two twin beds with a fireplace. Our room was at the front of the house so we had a fabulous view of the River Ness. The other room had a large four poster bed. The rooms were clean and the breakfast plentiful. Camilla or one of her family members were always around, even until 10:00 p.m. if you needed any help. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Whilst touring Scotland we were lucky enough to stay in Cavell House. We were welcomed by the owners Camilla and Neil. Our room was just lovely, four poster bed and period furniture, and a lovely large bathroom. As we were in the house at teatime we were treated to cake. The breakfast menu is large and very flexible. The whole house is furnished with lovely antiques and the dining tables are set with linen and real flowers (Roses). It was like staying in a home of a friend and the owners were always cheerful and very helpful.
It was ideally situated opposite the island gardens with a bridge over to the other side of the river Ness. Inverness itself is a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back of the house as it is very quiet there. The four poster bed is extrremely co...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

once again we had a lovely overnight stay at Cavell House. We had the biggest breakfast ever which included haggis instead of black pudding. The rooms are large and roomy...and the four poster bed was a huge success! Camilla was, as ever, very friendly and welcoming. It is a flat walk into inverness alongside the river. A very pleasant clean area. The bonus was parking at the rear of the house. We have stayed with Camilla twice before and will certainly return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of very high standard. The four poster bed is quirky but not recommended for tall...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannyjulia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverview Guest House
Riverview Guest House
#120 of 232 in Inverness
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talisker Guest House
Talisker Guest House
#146 of 232 in Inverness
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Culliss House B&B
Culliss House B&B
#43 of 232 in Inverness
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathness House
Strathness House
#20 of 232 in Inverness
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavell House

Address: Island Bank Road | Island Bank Road, Inverness IV2 4SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cavell House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing