We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and spotless clean, great hosts also.”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #23 of 234 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Definitely THE place to stay at when visiting Inverness!!! The hosts (Paul and Val) are such nice people and will make you feel very welcomed.The place has its own parking lot, which is very convenient if you are driving. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and equipped with all the amenities you can think of. Very complete breakfast buffet also.

Room Tip: Avoid booking room number 1, for it faces the road, which at times (specially early in the mornings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloViajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review although we are sorry you felt room 1 at the front of the house was a bit noisy in the mornings....if you had advised us whilst you were staying here we could have moved you to another room at the back of the house which may have been more peaceful for you....the A82 is a busy road at peak times which is first thing in the morning between 8.80am-9.30am and late afternoon from 4pm-6pm...we hope you will return again in the future and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 799 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are on a road trip through the Scottish Highlands and the Lake Country. The Avalon was the first B&B we visited... They set the standard high. Location is conveniently within walking distance to the town and the Avalon has parking so we opted for the exercise. The room was spacious and Val has done a great job of decorating. There was complimentary sherry in the room and all the amenities one could want were available. Bed was comfortable, even for my very tall husband! Breakfast was what we believe to be the typical full Scottish breakfast: eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, and toast. How do they manage? It was delicious and Paul was a genial host. We thoroughly enjoyed our introduction to Scottish hospitality.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank josjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon Guest House.
We hope you have enjoyed your holiday in Scotland and hopefully will return again in the future

Kind Regards to you both
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

the guest house avalon was our first stop in scotland... it was a wunderfull start of our journey. we appreciated the great hospitality, the very helpfull tipps about the area and the wunderfull scottish breakfast... thank again to val and paul!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cécile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you so much Cecile for your kind review Paul and I are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us...we hope you had a pleasant journey back home and hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Appreciated the off street parking. Very clean, cheerful room. The breakfast was excellent with great coffee. Val recommended a restaurant in town,Cafe 27,and suggested we walk into town along the river Ness. Glad we did. Pleasant 25 minute walk and driving would not have been fun with one way streets and looking for parking.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fdp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review...we are so glad you enjoyed our restaurant recommendation Number 27 we have to agree the food is excellent there.... also the walk along the river into the city is beautiful and much more pleasant than walking the main road....We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope you may return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Val and Paul went out of their way to accommodate us in every way. We highly recommend Avalon Guest house in Inverness. This was the only place that gave us a wash cloth! The breakfast served was excellent. Kudos to Avalon Guest House!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope that you may return again in the future.
Hope the rest of your holiday went well
Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This guest house is way above the standard you would expect for the price charged. Bedroom was huge with everything you could possibly want as was the ensuite bathroom.
Val and Paul are very friendly and obviously take an interest in their guests. The breakfast served in their excellent dining room was first class, even I couldn't eat any more. The premises are particularly welcoming to bikers and bike parking is possible out of site of the road.
If I am ever looking for accomodation in Inverness in the future I will book this guest house again and recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review it was lovely to meet you and are glad you all arrived home safe and well....we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon and hope you will come and visit us again in the future.
Happy Biking
Regards Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

They really have thought of everything a guest would want. Val and Paul are really nice and genuinely want your stay to be pleasant. The check in greeting was really friendly, the rooms tastefully and thoughtfully equipped and decorated. In the evening a lovely 20min walk back to this little haven from town through the lit up river Ness islands is a real treat. If you are keen to be up and about ready for the 8-9am breakfast (as we were) then you wont be at all troubled by the floorboards creaking from the residents walking around upstairs, but if you're the lay in type (shame on you in this glorious region) then ask for upstairs. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay again and reccommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Manager at Avalon Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Dionard Guest House
Dionard Guest House
#7 of 234 in Inverness
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#11 of 234 in Inverness
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torridon Guest House
Torridon Guest House
#26 of 234 in Inverness
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Invernevis B&B
Invernevis B&B
#22 of 234 in Inverness
198 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#10 of 234 in Inverness
529 reviews
1 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#6 of 234 in Inverness
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $88 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing