We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inverness first class guest house”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #23 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inverness first class guest house”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

They really have thought of everything a guest would want. Val and Paul are really nice and genuinely want your stay to be pleasant. The check in greeting was really friendly, the rooms tastefully and thoughtfully equipped and decorated. In the evening a lovely 20min walk back to this little haven from town through the lit up river Ness islands is a real treat. If you are keen to be up and about ready for the 8-9am breakfast (as we were) then you wont be at all troubled by the floorboards creaking from the residents walking around upstairs, but if you're the lay in type (shame on you in this glorious region) then ask for upstairs. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely stay again and reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Manager at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    54
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
70
524
40
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

An excellent B&B, the proprietors were lovely and very welcoming. The room was very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean with lots of nice little touches A large comfortable bed made for a great nights sleep and the breakfasts were delicious!

The Avalon is in a great location for the town centre and seeing all the local attractions, if you're visiting Inverness this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much Yvonne for your kind review. We enjoyed having you here at Avalon and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope you will return again in the future

Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

An excellent B&B, very nice welcome, lovely room very comfortable and nicely decorated. Great breakfast, I can't fault this place on any level. It was a flying visit, one night only but if I am back in Inverness with my wife on a social visit it will definitely be on my list.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Mike thank you for your kind review.....we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon even though it was brief... hope you enjoyed your time with your brother and had a good journey back home. Look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Brilliant sleep, Val and Paul were very friendly, warm and helpful and breakfast was great! Definitely would stay at the Avalon again (if there's any rooms available). Only a 5/10 minute walk from the town centre, it's in a very handy locations. The small room wasn't even small! It was very cosy and tidy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegoLego125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review...we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future

Many thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Avalon Guest house is a great place to stay in Inverness. I have stayed at the guest house. The rooms are clean. Paul and Val are very courteous and helpful, and breakfast delicious. Avalon Guest house is a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brookelandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review it was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Avalon.
We hope you will come and stay again in the future
Many Thanks
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for one night in December. Was best bed and breakfast i have stayed in. Brilliant value for money. I would definitely stay here again. I didn't get cooked breakfast as had to leave at 8am but sure it would have been lovely if i had

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wilmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Many Thanks for your kind review , we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will return again in the future
Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had great time at Avalon, only one night but felt right at home immediately, owners were really welcoming and genuine. The house was immaculate and decor tasteful and modern. The breakfast was excellent and relaxed. Great value too, we were there for Hogmanay and prices were not artificially inflated for this time of year. Will be booking again for 2014/15 festivities. Would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dochfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
30val1965, Owner at Avalon Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review it was lovely to meet you and look for ward to seeing you again at New Year
Kind Regards
Val and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#28 of 231 in Inverness
270 reviews
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#9 of 231 in Inverness
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 231 in Inverness
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 231 in Inverness
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 231 in Inverness
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing