We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #23 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This guest house is excellent. The rooms are spotless and decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast choices and quality are second to none and the owners Val and Paul are very friendly and accommodating. The house is only about 15/20mins walk from Inverness centre and although situated on the main A82 there was very little, if any, traffic noise in the rooms. I intend to stay at Avalon again on my next trip to Inverness and highly recommend it to anyone else who is thinking of taking a break in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 798 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We chose this guest house because of all the good reviews & it didn't disappoint. Excellent value for money. Huge room, walk-in wardrobe, luxurious king-size bed, lovely showerroom with comp. toiletries. The little extras that we liked were - silent fridge, fresh milk for tea/coffee, biscuits & SHERRY! Whisky was also available. Breakfasts were amazing - groaning buffet table of everything you could possibly want (fruit salad is to die for!), plus numerous hot items cooked to order. We'll definitely return if in Inverness - if there's any room, of course. Paul & Val really make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaviewlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 1 night before the inverness half marathon. The room and hospitality were both excellent, and the breakfast was just what we needed before the run.
I would definitely stay here again as it is only a 10 minute walk to the city centre and if you are running in any of the races held there, it is extremely hand for the start/finish line, which is less than a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5_Bucks_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Avalon on Saturday evening with my friend and thought that it was excellent, gorgeous decor throughout, the attention to details makes it stand out.

Clean, warm and a great breakfast.

Would definitely stay there again if visiting Inverness.

Best of Luck for the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Villainette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here due to the recommendation of our son, he said that he was treated almost like part of the family!
How right he was....from the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel at home, they say that is is the first impression is the important one. This was the case......The lounge was immaculate, and this level of excellence carried through to the dinning room and again through to the bedroom.
The king sized bed was very comfortable and the room was well appointed. The ensuite again was immaculate.
Val and Paul could not have done anymore to make our stay better...superb hosts.
I can only hope that they are not booked up when I plan my next visit to Inverness.

Steve D

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The previous reviews say it all: this is a great place to stay. Even though the owners weren't there when we stayed, their daughter did a sterling job as host. The rooms are large, comfortable and contain all you need. Bed fabulously comfortable. Bathroom clean etc etc. Can't say any more, except that I would return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DannyRat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I would just like to share my experience staying at this gorgeous guest house. The rooms are sumptious especially room 6 one of the newly refurbished rooms. not what you would expect from a normal guest house. The breakfast is outstanding and the choice is amazing. short of nothing and everything so fresh and all cooked to perfection. Val and Paul the hosts are so friendly and helpful and any problem you have whatever it may be is solved to the best of their ability, Paul is a natural comedien without trying. Situated a short walk from Inverness centre this is the perfect place to stay in Inverness and I cant wait to go again. Dont miss it.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 222holidaygirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.7 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#10 of 232 in Inverness
529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#9 of 232 in Inverness
393 reviews
1 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#7 of 232 in Inverness
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gatehouse
The Gatehouse
#39 of 232 in Inverness
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#15 of 232 in Inverness
221 reviews
3.7 mi away
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
By the Brae Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 232 in Inverness
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing