We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #22 of 231 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I would just like to share my experience staying at this gorgeous guest house. The rooms are sumptious especially room 6 one of the newly refurbished rooms. not what you would expect from a normal guest house. The breakfast is outstanding and the choice is amazing. short of nothing and everything so fresh and all cooked to perfection. Val and Paul the hosts are so friendly and helpful and any problem you have whatever it may be is solved to the best of their ability, Paul is a natural comedien without trying. Situated a short walk from Inverness centre this is the perfect place to stay in Inverness and I cant wait to go again. Dont miss it.

Room Tip: For a romantic getaway room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222holidaygirl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    53
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
69
516
38
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westray, Orkney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at Avalon on the way through Inverness and could not have had a better stay. From the welcoming dram - much appreciated on a cold November night - to the comfortable bed and excellent shower, I couldn't fault the place. Sadly I didn't get to try the cooked breakfast as I had to be out for an early train, but I would recommend this as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Warm, welcoming and friendly place to stay. Paul and Val are super hosts and very helpful with information of the local eating houses etc. Location near to the river which provided a lovely walk into Inverness. We stayed for 3 nights in November and had great fun. We hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Apparently we stayed in the smallest double but found it cosy and comfortable. Fronted the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent one night here and our stay was absolutely great. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and we got a great dinner recommendation in Inverness. It was just a short walk to the city (well, to the edge of it). Breakfast was great as well -- we would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Lovely rooms - modern and bright. The breakfasts were excellent - cooked while you wait! Hosts helpful and friendly. Can highly recommend this guest house which is placed in a good area for sight seeing. We thoroughly enjoyed our day out to the Culloden Attraction - informative and very interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a great place! When we first came to Inverness, we planned to stay for two nights. We loved the city and the Avalon so much, we ended up staying for five nights - Val & Paul are very warm hosts. They welcomed us with a warm drink and showed us to our lovely room. Everything was perfect - the rooms are very clean, have all the amenities one could hope for and coming back after a day out was like coming home. Breakfast was really great, Val & Paul supply a vast choice of cereal, cheeses, crackers, Scottish Breakfast and and and... lovely! All this was, of course, accompanied by Scottish music to get you going in the morning - loved it! Our hosts really enjoy what they do, can't remember any other place with that many jokes in the morning :-)
The city centre is a short 10 minute walk from the Avalon, two minutes take you down to the river. This B&B is ideally situated to take trips into and around Inverness (there is sooo much to see!)
But more than all this it was the small details that made the Avalon so very personal - fresh cookies every day, small sweets in the hallway (yeah sorry, it was me who ate 'em all...), Nessie who greeted us in our bedroom and of course Val and Paul who are two very very warm people! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Topler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights as I was running the Loch Ness marathon. The location was perfect, a 5 min stroll to the start and finish and a 15 min stroll along the river into the city center. The hosts were great from the moment we arrived offering us a whisky, to the moment we left. The room was very clean and tidy and had everything you could need, including a giant super king size bed. The room was en suite and the bathroom area was also spotless. A couple of nice touches were the little bowls of sweets everywhere and the small bottle of wine given to us on arrival...
The breakfast were perfect with everything you could want including lovely fresh fruit salads every morning. The hosts even got up and did breakfast for us a 6am on the morning of the marathon and were there at the finish to cheer some of their guests home.
If I ever go to Inverness again, this is the place I will stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 231 in Inverness
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Ann's House
St Ann's House
#5 of 231 in Inverness
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silverstrands Guest House
Silverstrands Guest House
#25 of 231 in Inverness
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rossmount Guest House
Rossmount Guest House
#13 of 231 in Inverness
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig Villa Guest House
Craig Villa Guest House
#39 of 231 in Inverness
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: 79 Glenurquhart Road, Inverness IV3 5PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon is a modern, spacious, high quality Guest House and is ideally situated to be your base for touring the beautiful Highlands of Scotland. Our location on the main A82 tourist route means you are within easy reach of many places to visit such as the famous Loch Ness, just a few minutes away. Our en-suite guest rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with everything you'll need for a pleasurable stay. Avalon provides free wireless internet and has a large private car park for guests. The city centre is a 15 minute walk but is very pretty as you walk along the River Ness.Avalon have just recently refurbished all of their guest rooms please have a look at the updated photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Guest House Hotel Inverness
Avalon Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing