We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but still very new”
Review of Loch Ness Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great but still very new”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a lovely new Caravan park on the East side of Loch Ness and the facilities are second to none and so well designed. The site owners and their staff are fantastic and even helped us solve a problem with our satellite television. The site it's self is well laid out and many of the hard standing sites have both water and electricity provided to each caravan / motorhome. As the site is very new the grass has not yet completed a cover of the ground but in a few years it will be lovely. The only thing against the site is there is nothing on the site and the nearest hotel is a good walk up a fairly steep hill. We were fortunate that we had the motorhome as I think the drive from Fort Augustus with an average sized caravan could be quite difficult but other than the drive the site is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Well worth taking any special food that you like as the range available is extremely limited.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Ness_Shores, Owner at Loch Ness Shores, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
George, thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
Many of our guests enjoy visiting the local pub in the evenings, or getting something to eat at one of the local cafes during the day. We are very much "a get away from it all site" with many campers joining us specifically for the local walks, cycling, fishing and spending time relaxing beside the loch at one of our fire pits, some of them even for wild swimming in Loch Ness! For those looking for a more we provide a great base for exploring Inverness and the Highlands beyond by bus or car. The road from Fort August is stunning but those towing a caravan often prefer the approach from Inverness.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    22
    3
    5
    6
See reviews for
77
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We drove up from South Lanarkshire to have a two night stay in the wigwams. The actual place itself is sitting right on Loch Ness, amazing scenery, very peaceful. The wigwams were very comfortable and warm, bed was comfortable too. The road itself into Foyers and Whitebridge was all single lane roads with passing places, we drove up in a mini countryman and it was bad enough, god only knows how the people in motor homes and pulling caravans felt. Defo need to be a confident driver to drive to there. And also, if your driving up later in the day and your a drinker and smoker, make sure you've got your supply's!! We had to ask the woman in the local shop to open for us and she wasn't happy. The wee shop on site only has some foody things, that's all. The shower and bathroom facilities were spotless and well looked after, I'm really fussy about that, even outside sinks too with hot water. Great for washing BBQ's and dishes. Staff were really friendly. Bit too far out the way for us though, great experience but we'll probably not go back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Ness_Shores, Owner at Loch Ness Shores, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Jayde, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so lucky to have such a fabulous location, and are glad to be able to share it with others. The approach from Fort Augustus is stunning, and many people recognise it from the film Local Hero, but our guests towing caravans often prefer the road from Inverness.
Hope you manage up again - we'd love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

An excellent caravan and camping site, which also offers luxury wooden wigwam cabins. We initially booked in for 1 week and extended our stay for 3 weeks. Special thanks to Donald and Lynn, Mark and Colette for being the perfect hosts, well done for running such a friendly and welcoming site. We shall certainly be making a return visit.
Everything has been well thought out. Pitches are generously spaced and flat. The toilets and showers are excellent and kept very clean, with good disabled facilities, washing up areas, and laundry room. The wigwam cabins even come with their own fire pit. The site office has a seating area, and a shop selling the basics.
Adults will appreciate the views over the loch and the lovely walks from the site, including a dog walk, and children will enjoy the wooden fort type play area.
We did not use the WI-FI service but it is available via Highland WI-FI which requires payment direct by card or PayPal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReadyForTheOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Ness_Shores, Owner at Loch Ness Shores, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, its much appreciated. Hope that we will welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

What an absolute gem of a campsite. Group of 13 staying in tents and wigwams and made to feel very welcome. Donald (the owner) and Colette and Mark (managers) are very friendly and proud of their campsite. Exceptionally clean site especially the toilet facilities with hairs dryers that doesn't need the on button to be held and no push button showers! On site shop sells enough to keep you going from bread and milk to wood and firefighters. Strict quiet rule from 11pm which given a group size of 13 the owners/managers handled very well to ensure our group and other guests enjoyed their time. Right on a pebble beach to give a perfect setting and stunning views. You must visit. We will return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Diesel112005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch_Ness_Shores, Owner at Loch Ness Shores, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. So glad that you all had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
10.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
736 reviews
9.8 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
41 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Shores

Property: Loch Ness Shores
Address: Monument Park, Lower Foyers, Inverness IV2 6YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Camping, caravanning & glamping wigwam holidays. One of very few places with easy access to shore where you can picnic and barbeque or just enjoy the scenery. Loch Ness Shores Camping and Caravanning Club Site site is located on the quieter south shore near the village of Foyers right by Loch Ness. This 99 pitch, all-year-round campsite also offers opportunities for glamping in their Wigwams. Scotland's most famous loch is the stunning backdrop for this new campsite in the Scottish Highlands. The aptly-named Loch Ness Shores Club campsite is located on the quieter south shore near the village of Foyers, close to Inverness. This 99 pitch, all-year-round campsite enjoys panoramic views around Loch Ness to the mountains beyond and is the perfect base for exploring the area's historic sites like the magnificent Urquhart Castle, the charming towns and villages of Fort Augustus, Cannich and Drumnadrochit, or for getting active whether it be on foot, bike or boat. The site itself has excellent eco credentials, including using innovative green technologies to heat and light the top notch facilities which include an amenity block with under floor heating and home from home shower rooms, an on-site shop and wi-fi. Loch Ness Shores also offers the opportunity to go glamping in one of its five luxury wooden wigwam cabins, all boasting comfy caravan-style beds, with two comfortably accommodating up to five, the other three, two adults and two children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Shores Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing