We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inverness Youth Hostel
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Located close to everything, this hostel met all our needs and then some. The rooms were clean and tidy, not too cramped either, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean.
The hostel has excellent self catered kitchens and it is positively massive and also well stocked with the pots and pans that you would need.
With a big Morrisons nearby, there is no worry for getting the items required for you to make yourself a dinner/breakfast.
Free car parking facitlity on request makes it an awesome option as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohdSalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
13
21
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is about a 15 min walk from the Inverness bus station. It is 5 mins away from a Morrisons supermarket and bus stop to/from the airport. The hostel is very large, with a huge stainless steel self catering kitchen and nice lounge/reception area. The dorm rooms and bathrooms were very clean and orderly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thank you for having me to stay at the SYHA Inverness. Jim the duty manager got in touch to offer me a bed while in the final stages of my LEJOG run. I enjoyed a friendly welcome, a great night's sleep and enjoyed some great craic with the residents. Best hostel in Inverness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeMbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Due to my own error I booked twice into this hostel and had accidently paid ( don't ask!)
I emailed an enquiry and straight away it was sorted out beyond what I could have expected.
Excellent customer service and I haven't even been there yet!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

i was pleasantly surprised when I came here as I thought it was a typical youth hostel, but in fact it was anything but!. I was greeted by a pleasant chap who asked if I had had a plesant journey. I booked a bed as I was only here for the night and I ended up getting a private room. Ok so it was a small ensuite room but it was perfect for the amount of money i paid. All the staff i spoke with were extremely friendly and chatty. It was just painted inside so it was bery fresh and welcoming. I didnt eat here as they have self catering facilities and i was only there for a sleep, but I will definately be back with my friends as I couldnt fault anything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckilop102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Clean, large room, with standard issue creaky SYHA beds. The kitchen was clean, with everything you needed.

Peaking into a micro room, they do look very micro.

Exactly what you expect from SYHA, in a city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanelbullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent there one night and I have to say I had great experience. There is a self-catering kitchen which is huge and well equipped. We had room for 6 people with a sink and mirror over that. The storage lockers are in good size. The communal room is large, there's also the cafe area in front of reception. The breakfast was continental with wide choice of food, hot drinks and juices. Showers and toilets were clean however there were missing toilet rolls in 2 cubicles.
The hotel is situated not far from the city, about 15-20 mins by walk where you find wide range of restaurants and bars, and the supermarket Morrisons is about 10 mins from the hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivetulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Inverness Fairways
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#18 of 34 in Inverness
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inverness Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverness Youth Hostel

Property: Inverness Youth Hostel
Address: Victoria Drive, Inverness IV2 3QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inverness Youth Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inverness Youth Hostel offers modern budget accommodation with superb facilities. The youth hostel also offers family friendly private en suite rooms, all of which are freshly decorated, warm and comfortable, with private lockers. Some rooms also have glorious views towards the Moray Firth. Inverness Youth Hostel offers meals but also has an excellent self-catering kitchen, making it popular with groups and families. The youth hostel has a warm welcome and buzzing atmosphere making it one of Scotland's top youth hostels in the capital of the Highlands. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Inverness Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing