We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better on the inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Backpackers Inverness
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I stayed here at the end of July and was surprised.
It's situated on the edge of a car park behind a Nightclub which from the outset is off putting. But once inside you are surprised by how well appointed it is.

You enter the hallway and there is lo0ts of information of things to see and do which was helpful having never visited the area before. You climb the stairs to the kitchen, reception, hall way and living room area. It has an assortment of books and magazines, plasma tv, games, DVD'S, and internet.

Our room was private with two bunks in, the view was off a chimney but we were not in the room long enough to care. clean sheets, pillows and showers, although the light did not work making showering difficult before our night out.

kitchen sinks were a but grimy but all in all its a comfortable base for sleep and rest.

location is right in town, check out hootanny in the next street you wont regret it

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jennyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. It was a really good hostel!

We kind of struck it lucky, as there aren't many reviews on it... but dont let that deter you... Here is hopefully one of many good reviews!

The basics:
The cleanliness was amazing! Location was also really good! The lone receptionist was a total champ! (She was running the show alone, when we got there the other worker had just left for home) The rooms were spacious, clean, modern, safe. (We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, with 2 others) Kitchen and lounge were also really clean and useful. (No microwave in the kitchen though! Dont buy a microwave dinner like we did!! haha) Cheap rooms too!

All in all a great place to stay!! If/when we go back to Inverness we will definetly be revisiting this place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vegie_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Noreen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scheggia_Melzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ugocuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank jmgraserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woojinlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#14 of 53 in Inverness
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
295 reviews
10.2 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 36 in Inverness
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Backpackers Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Backpackers Inverness

Address: 24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range: $19 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Backpackers Inverness 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being THE closest to the train and bus stations (check the map if you don’t believe us!), only 5 mins walk from the heart of Inverness and next to a free overnight parking, we offer by far the best location. With a fully equipped kitchen offering free tea/coffee/milk/sugar and storage room for food, a spacious and comfy lounge with a guitar and a piano for your use, free wifi, a complete daily cleaning, freshly cleaned sheets, informations about the area’s points of interest, weekly activities such as movie nights and pub crawls and one of the cheapest nightly rate in town, you can be sure that you’ll get most out of your money. You’ll find adaptors, hair dryer, iron, DVDs and video games at the front desk. Our best asset is our team; you will get to know the passionate live-in young backpackers who love this place like their own home. Our team even counts a Scottish tour guide, offering low cost day trips to the Isle of Skye or Loch Ness on his time off. If you’re looking for a laugh and a friendly atmosphere, don’t look any further! Inverness provides an excellent base to explore the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The city has many attractions, including the museum and art gallery, Inverness castle (with the Castle Garrison Encounter Exhibition) and of course the legendary Loch Ness Monster around the corner! Inverness is also home to some of the best award winning live music bars in Scotland and also restaurants providing amazing food and value.For all you Outlander fans, Culloden Battlefield and the Clava Cairns (inspiration for Craigh na Dun) are a short bus ride away. There are also many tours offered by various companies that explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Glen Affric and many other places of interest. Find more informations at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Highland Backpackers Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Backpackers Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing