We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highland Backpackers Inverness
Nearby Hotels
Bunchrew House Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaufort Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$105
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Macdonald Drumossie Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$151
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmills Hotel(Inverness)
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$154
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Inverness Fairways(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$118
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Inverness West Hotel(Inverness)(Great Value!)
$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
29
52
56
36
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
52
56
36
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge roombus stationbed dormrooms are smallbeds were comfortablestayed here for nightsloch nesscentral locationmoppedcondensationpubspounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 210 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2008

This hostel was pretty clean, as hostels go. The beds and bathrooms were all average; not super comfortable but not awful. There is a great common area with puzzles and a TV which was never too crowded, and a kitchen with utensils and free tea.

There was only one staff member working during our stay, which meant it was a little hard to check out, but he was very friendly and recommended a great Indian restaurant. Noise isn't a problem here at all; we went during summer and only saw about five other guests. It was very close to the bus station in Inverness, and to shops and restaurants.

My sister and I enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cactustrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Hi

we stayed here over Easter, and it was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Our dorm was freezing, it was warmer outside (even though it was snowing) than in that room and because of that we didn't sleep very well. Also we were told that our duvets hadn't been cleaned for a while, the guy on reception couldn't tell us how long but we did get fresh sheets and pillow covers.

I wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it unless you are really stuck for somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CailinDubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I stayed here at the end of July and was surprised.
It's situated on the edge of a car park behind a Nightclub which from the outset is off putting. But once inside you are surprised by how well appointed it is.

You enter the hallway and there is lo0ts of information of things to see and do which was helpful having never visited the area before. You climb the stairs to the kitchen, reception, hall way and living room area. It has an assortment of books and magazines, plasma tv, games, DVD'S, and internet.

Our room was private with two bunks in, the view was off a chimney but we were not in the room long enough to care. clean sheets, pillows and showers, although the light did not work making showering difficult before our night out.

kitchen sinks were a but grimy but all in all its a comfortable base for sleep and rest.

location is right in town, check out hootanny in the next street you wont regret it

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jennyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. It was a really good hostel!

We kind of struck it lucky, as there aren't many reviews on it... but dont let that deter you... Here is hopefully one of many good reviews!

The basics:
The cleanliness was amazing! Location was also really good! The lone receptionist was a total champ! (She was running the show alone, when we got there the other worker had just left for home) The rooms were spacious, clean, modern, safe. (We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, with 2 others) Kitchen and lounge were also really clean and useful. (No microwave in the kitchen though! Dont buy a microwave dinner like we did!! haha) Cheap rooms too!

All in all a great place to stay!! If/when we go back to Inverness we will definetly be revisiting this place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vegie_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews