We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to bunk in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Backpackers Inverness
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here for four nights, this place is literally half a minute walk to the bus station, at most 2 minutes walk to the train station and 5 minutes walk to the Victorian Market (if you're a slow walker like I am). It is cleaned everyday, the rooms, the kitchen and lounge and it is a cozy little place. I had a bed in the 4 bedded mixed room. The space was a bit small but sufficient. The lounge is comfortable with a number of couches, a TV, a piano (for those who would like to practice) and board games. The kitchen sits about 10 people so it is a busy place at meal times. They provide fridges and freezers and free coffee and tea throughout the day. The staff were extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in this hostel for 3 nights whilst in inverness. I was arriving late around 11pm, but the friendly staff had left my key out and a note, so that wasn't a problem. The kitchen is really good, clean and has everything you need considering some of the hostels ive stayed in around new Zealand, Australia and Asia, this was one of the best.
The bed was pretty comfy but the room was quite small for a 4 dorm, but it did have a locker for valuables which is always the main thing I look for in a room. At the end of the day, the room is just a place to rest your head, so the size isn't important to me like it is to some people.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again, and also the guy on reception mentioned rates for long termers which is ideal if youre working your way around the UK.
Regards
Liam Bancroft

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liambancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I are from australia and we stayed here for three days. The English lady who manages the hostel and her staff were super friendly and accommodating especially when I was sick.
Very homely feeling hostel and I felt very comfortable staying there. Easily the best hostel I have stayed in. Felt like one big happy family :)

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived late at night to a note with the key to our room. Once in the room we were given, all the beds were taken, we went to the common room where one of the staff was there. She had mixed up our rooms. Finally given the right room and key, our door was broken and we struggled with the lock for about 20minutes. Once in our room, it was very cramped, too many beds in the small room. The bathrooms and overall hostel was very clean. The staff were useless and half the time didn't know what information to give us. Our last night there, after coming in late, one of our booked beds had been taken, no staff were around, so we had to double up in a single bed since all the beds were full. This location could be great if they got their act together.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleeWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

a nice hostel with very cheap prices, next to the city center! The reception very healpfull and kind!
The bathroom was clean and there was a livingroom for the costumers with games! A good choice for everyone that goes in inverness

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked 2 rooms here nearly 2 months in advance but, despite it stating on the website that people weren't allowed to share rooms with strangers, we were given 3 rooms, 2 of which were already half full. Being a large group of men we were very uncomfortable sharing with young women so tried to get it sorted at reception. The young English lady at reception was very stubborn and refused to help but we eventually came to an agreement with the other residents to swap rooms. After returning from our night out we still found people in our rooms and had to go through the whole thing again. The next morning at around 8am we were all rudely awoken by the lady from reception barging into our room shouting and swearing that we all had to get out. We tried to explain that the confusion was due to her not giving us the rooms that we had booked and paid for, but all she said was that it was because they were fully booked and she wasn't prepared to discuss this further. They weren't fully booked when I booked the rooms though, far from it, she just double booked one of our rooms to try and make more money. Regardless of this, there is absolutely no excuse for barging into a room full of men, naked apart from our underwear, shouting and swearing at the top of her voice. I've never experienced such unprofessional behaviour from a member of hospitality staff in all of my life. I'm sure the owners of the hostel would be horrified to hear of a member of their staff kicking us out of what she referred to as "her hostel" in such an uncivilised and unprofessional manner. To be fair though, the hostel itself was quite nice, I've certainly stayed in far worse! The place was like a sauna though, even with the window open I still had to sleep without a cover.

Room Tip: Don't annoy the angry English girl at reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

we arrived rather late so we called the hostel to let them know and they left the key to us outside the reception. Free milk for breakfast, and the staff kept our luggage for free in the luggage room and even let us use their kitchen after checking out! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doyouhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 36 in Inverness
1,883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#14 of 52 in Inverness
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inverness City Suites
Inverness City Suites
#6 of 52 in Inverness
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Isle Rooms
Black Isle Rooms
#18 of 52 in Inverness
15 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inverness Hostel
Inverness Hostel
#40 of 52 in Inverness
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Backpackers Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Backpackers Inverness

Address: 24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range: $18 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Backpackers Inverness 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being THE closest to the train and bus stations (check the map if you don’t believe us!), only 5 mins walk from the heart of Inverness and next to a free overnight parking, we offer by far the best location. With a fully equipped kitchen offering free tea/coffee/milk/sugar and storage room for food, a spacious and comfy lounge with a guitar and a piano for your use, free wifi, a complete daily cleaning, freshly cleaned sheets, informations about the area’s points of interest, weekly activities such as movie nights and pub crawls and one of the cheapest nightly rate in town, you can be sure that you’ll get most out of your money. You’ll find adaptors, hair dryer, iron, DVDs and video games at the front desk. Our best asset is our team; you will get to know the passionate live-in young backpackers who love this place like their own home. Our team even counts a Scottish tour guide, offering low cost day trips to the Isle of Skye or Loch Ness on his time off. If you’re looking for a laugh and a friendly atmosphere, don’t look any further! Inverness provides an excellent base to explore the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The city has many attractions, including the museum and art gallery, Inverness castle (with the Castle Garrison Encounter Exhibition) and of course the legendary Loch Ness Monster around the corner! Inverness is also home to some of the best award winning live music bars in Scotland and also restaurants providing amazing food and value.For all you Outlander fans, Culloden Battlefield and the Clava Cairns (inspiration for Craigh na Dun) are a short bus ride away. There are also many tours offered by various companies that explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Glen Affric and many other places of interest. Find more informations at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Highland Backpackers Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Backpackers Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing