We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highland Backpackers Inverness
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Casual and convenient!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed: December 23, 2012

This was my first time staying in a hostel and there are a few things I would like to take note off:

1. Location:
a) It is simply a 2 minute walk from the bus station. Due to its central location, it is easy to get around.
b) There is a cheap frozen food store behind it called "Iceland" where you can get cheap food for GBP 1 per meal!

2. Hostel common areas:
a) The reception area was very clean and welcoming and they we're very casual and relaxed about things.
b) There are opening hours for the kitchen (8:00 am to 11:00pm) and this made it difficult if you needed a quick snack or have a bite as shops close early here in Inverness
c) However, the kitchen is well furnished with lots of chairs and cooking utensil. Very convenient for cheap traveler who grocery shop most of the time.
d) The lounge is pretty cool. I think that it was sparse and not crowded was because it was approaching Christmas and the fact that it was Winter time. Very nice and cozy with a piano and guitar you can play as well as a computer that you can use.

3. The Accommodation:
a) Toilets work fine but they do smell as it doesn't get aired well enough. Sinks are so tiny! No shelves to put toothpaste or toiletries. It would help if they had a small shelf in the toilets.
b) Some showers weren't working when we were there, but the showers are very convenient to use. Warm and nice. The showers didn't smell as bad and were cleaner than the toilets
c) I stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm. The lighting wasn't too good as it only lit the front of the room and not the back. They also opened the windows during the day and considering that it gets rainy and wet in Inverness a lot, I didn't agree to it. It would have let bugs or dampness in. I think it should only be open on sunny days. The shelves worked fine and the comforters are nice and warm. They only turn on the heater at the start of the night and then they turn it off after a certain hour. Not sure why. NOTE: The WIFI is very good in my room because I think I was right above the reception area. Not sure about the rest of the place.

Overall: It was nice and comfortable. For the price paid, it was worthwhile. As a girl, I felt safe here. It wasn't full or packed when we stayed here in the winter and it was rather cosy. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend.

Room Tip: Get the room that is right above the reception area. Try to avoid the first floor where most activit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aillemaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    52
    34
    36
See reviews for
7
23
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I ve been there in the 2011 summer, i think is a good hostel, excellent ubication, just 1 block to the train and bus station.
I think if you dont looking for luxury, you re in the correct place.
You have to walk a few blocks to the supermarket and the downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbarinoivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very kind and it was £8 at this time of the year. Unbelievable. But for me, personally, it wasnt so good. Small bedroom with unstable cheap bed, and it seems very dark in the room, depressing. I didnt really like the atmosphere, but the other reviews are very positive, so... But I think for only £8... Its worth a try!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I went to this place with a coupple of friends. The outside-impression wasn't the best but the cosy interior more than makes up for that. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and clean, just as the toilets (controlled every 2hrs). The kitchen was comfortable too, but it's not too big (didn't bother me, as everybody was considerate). The common room with the comfy sofas was one of the highlights of this stay. Fantastic place to rest & relax. The location couldn't be better: car park with reasonable prices nearby, very central.
The only drop of bitterness was that 3 of the 5 showers didn't work (main reason why I don't give 5 points, I would give 4.5 but the system doesn't allow me to ;) ). It didn't cost too much time in my case, but when you've got bad luck you might wait quite some time.

After all, I defenitely would return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

you get what you pay.
bot bad at the very end, but not even special.
very badly organised with towels. reception not on time on opening time. spent only one night there so can't tell much, but my impression wasn't better than average...
but for what you pay, not too bad at the end of the day..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciferSam987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had never stayed in a hostel before but me and my partner were just passing through Inverness and wanted a cheap place to crash for a few days. I must say I was very pleasantly surprised.

Location: In the centre of town, next to the bus station (shuttles to the airport) 2 minute walk to the train station.

Room: 4-10 bed mixed dorm available (we stayed 4 &6) clean, small lockers for valuables (need your own locks but can buy from the front desk)

Staff: The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Fred!!

Atmosphere: Really friendly and respectful. People were always up for being social if you wanted but you were left alone to do your own thing as well. No drunken party animals or rude and obnoxious people while we were there. I also really appreciated that regardless if people went to bed at 9pm or 2am, everyone made an effort to quietly go to bed and not disturb other sleepers.

Facilities:
• Large very well set up kitchen: fridge, microwave, stove, etc along with all the cook wear and utensils you will ever need as well as a whole cupboard full of spices.
• Large sitting area to eat and lounge room with lots couches.
• Free Wi-Fi in the entire hostel or free computer with internet in the lounge room
• 24 hr vending machine for snacks & drinks
• 2-3 bathrooms & showers per floor (separate)

Overall: Since it was my first hostel experience I kept an open mind. Honestly it was just like summer camp. You picked your bunk, got to know your bunk mates, cued for the toilets and all hung out in common area. Other then that it ticked all the boxes for clean, friendly and a convenient location. I would defiantly return if we were passing through again.

Room Tip: if you have a lot of bags ask for a main floor room since it has no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We did the Great Glen Way and this Hostel was the last accomodation of our adventure. The room was nice, very comfortable and clean. There were many toilets and spacious showers and clean. The kitchen was little bit smaller than we expected but you have a big living room with some couchs to do everything.

My partner and me were very impressed and happy. Cheap, clean and so close to everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#19 of 47 in Inverness
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inverness Hostel
Inverness Hostel
#41 of 47 in Inverness
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Black Isle Rooms
#20 of 47 in Inverness
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waverley Guest House
Waverley Guest House
#214 of 231 in Inverness
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Backpackers Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Backpackers Inverness

Property: Highland Backpackers Inverness
Address: 24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Backpackers Inverness 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being THE closest to the train and bus stations (check the map if you don’t believe us!), only 5 mins walk from the heart of Inverness and next to a free overnight parking, we offer by far the best location. With a fully equipped kitchen offering free tea/coffee/milk/sugar and storage room for food, a spacious and comfy lounge with a guitar and a piano for your use, free wifi, a complete daily cleaning, freshly cleaned sheets, informations about the area’s points of interest, weekly activities such as movie nights and pub crawls and one of the cheapest nightly rate in town, you can be sure that you’ll get most out of your money. You’ll find adaptors, hair dryer, iron, DVDs and video games at the front desk. Our best asset is our team; you will get to know the passionate live-in young backpackers who love this place like their own home. Our team even counts a Scottish tour guide, offering low cost day trips to the Isle of Skye or Loch Ness on his time off. If you’re looking for a laugh and a friendly atmosphere, don’t look any further! Inverness provides an excellent base to explore the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The city has many attractions, including the museum and art gallery, Inverness castle (with the Castle Garrison Encounter Exhibition) and of course the legendary Loch Ness Monster around the corner! Inverness is also home to some of the best award winning live music bars in Scotland and also restaurants providing amazing food and value.For all you Outlander fans, Culloden Battlefield and the Clava Cairns (inspiration for Craigh na Dun) are a short bus ride away. There are also many tours offered by various companies that explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Glen Affric and many other places of interest. Find more informations at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Highland Backpackers Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Backpackers Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing