We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Cozy, beautiful decor, warm hosts, very comfortable, wonderful breakfast.”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #48 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingfield, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent! Cozy, beautiful decor, warm hosts, very comfortable, wonderful breakfast.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find. Conveniently located. Had a warm, welcoming feeling from the moment we arrived. Lovely decor theme throughout - very well done. Fiona & Dugie were very welcoming. Our room was lovely - pretty canopy bed. Very clean room. Bath & comfortable amenities were provided such as robes & slippers. Fiona provided suggestions for dinner. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was massive & delicious. Willing to provide anything we asked for. We stayed 2 nights here. Met some nice other American guests while we were there also. Will definitely be back to Scotland again & stay here again. One of 2 best places we stayed while in Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipersbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
thank you for your kind words, Fiona and I look forward to welcoming you back to Acorn House where you are always assured of a pleasant stay with us here in Inverness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    29
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
65
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a lovely B&B with traditional furnishings and gorgeous tartAn carpet. The room I stayed in was clean cosy and comfortable. There was tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits and toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and I slept really well after watching all my favourite soaps. The breakfast was very nice, and my only critique would be that the sausages are not that good. However, that's because I like really good sausages and not the frozen or "walls" kind. Dugie and Fiona were lovely hosts and they have two absolutely adorable doggies. A 12 year old West highland terrier who is gorgeous and her equally cute and gorgeous companion Molly, a Lasa Apsa who is totally to die for. If your not a dog lover, you won't see the dogs unless you want
to, which I did and it really made my day. I thoroughly recommend this B&B and would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippahop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A typical Scottish B & B, with very warm, helpful and concerned about our well owners. In a beautifully designed dining room, you could enjoy a full breakfast with a wide selection. We'll be back. Carmen and Regine from Germany

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Fiona and I look forward to welcoming you back to Acorn House, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Many Thanks
Dugie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

a group of us stayed here for one night on a biking trip to the highlands
and had a fantastic stay the breakfast was too die for ,the rooms were all brill ,
and it is a short walking distance from the town centre and to top it all there was a massif hot tub
that my wife and I made good use off,
the owners were a lovely couple and couldn't do enough for us,
all in all I would recommend it ,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, Fiona and I look forward to having you all return to Acorn House as meeting you all was our pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The house was amazing! The owner and her husbands are the absolute sweetest. They let our little girl play on their grandchildren's toys outside which was a real joy for her. The breakfast was outstanding. and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Fiona and I thank you for your review, we look forward to having you stay with us here at Acorn House again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeellie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic property, lovely furnished and rooms fab, was like staying in a palace after staying in the Knowl B and B Drumnadrochit for 2 nights. Rooms furnished to high standard, we was given a room with a shower but was then moved to one with a bath, fantastic, original room had a 4 poster bed. Towels top quality, nothing too much trouble for this guest house. Breakfast to die for but I did not manage to eat it all. We was taken to inverness train station by Dugie the next morning which we thought was a lovely touch. We will definatley return without hesitation if we returned to inverness, credit to you both this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

When I heard we were staying in B&B's throughout Scotland the Acorn House is exactly what I pictured. This place is Scottish through and through. Owners are delightful, breakfast yummy, and decorated so that there is no question that you are in Scotland; love the Scottie dogs. Acorn House is within walking distance to downtown. We went out at night and felt completely safe. Sent an email prior to our arrival and received response that evening.

Room Tip: Inverness is lovely and has something for everyone. This great location allows you to park the car a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We thank you for your response and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#51 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#26 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craignay Guest House
Craignay Guest House
#81 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glasdair House
Glasdair House
#33 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Property: Acorn Guest House
Address: 2A Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn House is the family home of Dugie and Fiona Cameron. It is known for its highland hospitality. The ambiance throughout is of a Scottish theme. There are six en-suite rooms some have four poster beds and are all equipped with hospitality trays, TV and we have just installed "wireless" so our guests can be online for business or pleasure. There is a residents' private lounge and private of street car parking. We also have a hot tub and steam room for which there is an additional charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing