We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever”
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #52 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The house was amazing! The owner and her husbands are the absolute sweetest. They let our little girl play on their grandchildren's toys outside which was a real joy for her. The breakfast was outstanding. and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Fiona and I thank you for your review, we look forward to having you stay with us here at Acorn House again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Fantastic property, lovely furnished and rooms fab, was like staying in a palace after staying in the Knowl B and B Drumnadrochit for 2 nights. Rooms furnished to high standard, we was given a room with a shower but was then moved to one with a bath, fantastic, original room had a 4 poster bed. Towels top quality, nothing too much trouble for this guest house. Breakfast to die for but I did not manage to eat it all. We was taken to inverness train station by Dugie the next morning which we thought was a lovely touch. We will definatley return without hesitation if we returned to inverness, credit to you both this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

When I heard we were staying in B&B's throughout Scotland the Acorn House is exactly what I pictured. This place is Scottish through and through. Owners are delightful, breakfast yummy, and decorated so that there is no question that you are in Scotland; love the Scottie dogs. Acorn House is within walking distance to downtown. We went out at night and felt completely safe. Sent an email prior to our arrival and received response that evening.

Room Tip: Inverness is lovely and has something for everyone. This great location allows you to park the car a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We thank you for your response and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was visiting Fort George north of Inverness and we decided it would be an ideal opportunity to take our dogs and have a walking holiday with them. Where do we stay? Onto trip advisor and the Acorn appeared. We phoned and Fiona fully explained what room was on offer and we agreed right away. Not knowing Inverness that well we were pleasantly surprised with various points. Its location is only five minutes from the walks along the river and a further two minutes from the town centre.
There was private parking for our car and then the room itself was perfect. En suite with a large double bed and single bed, a double settee, ample wardrobe space, flat screen television and small fridge.
Breakfast was first class which you could pre order the previous evening along with the selected time you required it. You leave that on the hall stand and you turn up in the morning. The choice was huge and with me requiring a gluten free diet, GF bread of various varieties were available. We opted for the cooked breakfast which was excellently prepared by Fiona’s husband Cammy.
Both are from Inverness and their knowledge of where to visit in the town is immense.
Would I visit again and recommend the Acorn to anyone? A resounding yes. Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewMutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Acorn House only one night and the accomodations were fine. The breakfast was your typical Scottish breakfast and very good. The only downside was the potpourri or air freshner she has in the lobby. The smell was nice but a little more than my allergies could take.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhondatrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent 2 wonderful nights at Acorn house- the breakfasts were fantastic and hospitality was out of this world. It is central to Inverness and a home from home in which our kids felt at ease. We even got to meet the wee dogs :)
We will be returning from Southg Africa soon to enjoy Acorn House

Room Tip: The rooms were comfortable and the added toiletries help if you forget your toothbrush or something
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorn-house, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Fiona and I are glad that you are back Home safe and well, The dogs are all fine and I am sure that your children miss them. We thank you for your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to Acorn House. How are things back in S Africa
All our Good wishes
Dugie and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The welcome was a little subdues but everything was fine as the visit went on. Fiona cooks a hearty breakfast ready for a long day out. The room was very well equipped, and the beds gave me the best 3 nights sleep of my holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acorn-house, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Geoff, Fiona and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Acorn House, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, Fiona is a shy person when meeting people for the first time but she always likes to make people welcome, and is very stringent on perfection in all areas, She is a very caring person and works hard for the comfort of our Guests.
We thank you for your kind words
All our good wishes.
Dugie and Fiona Cameron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#31 of 232 in Inverness
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardross and Glencairn Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Lyndon Guest House
Lyndon Guest House
#63 of 232 in Inverness
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 232 in Inverness
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moyness House
Moyness House
#26 of 232 in Inverness
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#69 of 232 in Inverness
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 2A Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $86 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn House is the family home of Dugie and Fiona Cameron. It is known for its highland hospitality. The ambiance throughout is of a Scottish theme. There are six en-suite rooms some have four poster beds and are all equipped with hospitality trays, TV and we have just installed "wireless" so our guests can be online for business or pleasure. There is a residents' private lounge and private of street car parking. We also have a hot tub and steam room for which there is an additional charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing