We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryeford Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryeford Guest House
Ranked #98 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Nice located hotel on the top of the hill looking over the bay. Freindly Landlord, good breakfast and nice rooms

Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BengtO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
39
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel, but we traveled with 2 adults, 2 seniors, and 1 11 yr old child. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, en-suite. The 3 bed room was amazing. Difficult to drive to, but easy to walk from to get around town. A very good nights sleep. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoCubsDevotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was really a great place. I stayed there three days in early June '09 with in a triple. The room wasn't huge but it wasn't small either. Finding the Ryeford was a bit difficult but that was more of in Inverness street sign issue than a Ryeford issue. It's in a great location, just a quick walk to the end of the block and down some stairs to get to the action. It's far enough away that you don't hear the busy street noise, however. Breakfast was quite hearty, but some fresh fruit options would have been nice in my opinion. George and Joan were great folks, quick helpful in getting us acquainted with the area as well as attending to our needs. Parking can be a bit of an issue as there is no specific parking reserved for Ryeford Guests. Guests are, however, provided with a city parking permit so they can park on the street. Just don't return too late or you may have trouble finding a convenient space! Again, not a fault of the Ryeford and they make the best of the situation for you. Overall I'd definitely recommend the Ryeford. They provided a great service, particularly given the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berg1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

Joan and George Anderson have made such an effort to make you feel at home. Delicious breakfast, lovely rooms and excellent location. Walking distance from everywhere. An oasis after walking the Great Glen Way!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

Just come home from a stay at this excellent 4 star b&b. It was a very well located base as you are only minutes from the high street. The room was quite large as was the en suite off the bedroom. Wonderful view of the Moray Firth from the window. Beds were extremely comfortable. We felt very much at home and the resident's lounge was very good and we were actively encouraged to use it by the owners. Our breakfast was also very good with lots of choice and the produce of very good quality. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Inverness for however long. It has many regulars who return again and again as verified by the comments book. Well done George, Josan and all their staff for a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Edsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Ryford for only two nights, we wish it could have been longer!
We have always wanted to visit Inverness but were put off by the six hour drive, then along came Ryanair with the new route from Liverpool - flight time of one hour and with special introductory prices of 1p a seat plus taxes - £75 in all for two of us return the trip was on, I looked on the Scottish Tourism site and found the Ryford, two emails later it was booked.
On arrival at Inverness I had ordered a Hertz hire car - £46 for three days - we drove down to the Ryford and were met by the very friendly owner George, who runs the guest house with his wife Joan, prior to a bad accident he used to own a hotel with 100+ beds, he told us that the property was built in 1843 for the Inverness Stationmaster and it was built to a very high standard, he has completely restored it where necessary to bring it back to its original state, with handmade doors and stripped wooden floors. Accommodation is excellent, there is a sumptuous lounge and dining room on the ground floor and six bedrooms upstairs the room we had looked out over Inverness city a few hundred yards away, with an excellent view of the station for obvious reasons!!, there was a large bathroom with thick fluffy towels and a bedroom with a double and single bed with tea making facilities. Breakfast is ordered the night before to enable it to be ready for when you arrive in the dining room, there is a very good choice to choose from. Parking outside is permit only between 0900 and 1800 but there is a car park at the end of the terrace and it was easy to park outside during the evening.
Access to the city is perfect - 200 yards away are the Market Brae Steps - a winding slope with interspersed steps which has you on the main shopping area in ten minutes, there is a very new shopping Mall and M&S store along with a Victorian Market Hall, places to eat are in abundance and George will give advise on the best options, it is an absolute pleasure to walk into any restaurant or bar and find it completely smoke free, we enjoyed our trip and will return - to the Ryford of course!

email address -joananderson@uwclub.net

  • Liked — Friendly, clean and in good location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lancashirerover H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (Millburn Rd) Hotel
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eildon Guest House
Eildon Guest House
#25 of 246 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#10 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bridge Street Apartments
Bridge Street Apartments
#14 of 40 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryeford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryeford Guest House

Property: Ryeford Guest House
Address: 21 Ardconnel Terrace, Inverness IV2 3AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Ryeford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryeford Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing