We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best place to stay in Inverness”
Review of St Ann's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Ann's House
Ranked #5 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stornoway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best place to stay in Inverness”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stay at Bob and Mary at St annes whenever I visit Inverness and I am the sort of person that likes to try different places to stay. However the warmth of the welcome, the excellent clean and comfy rooms and the high quality food served make seem pointless to deny myself the pleasure of staying at st annes.

Bob and Mary Ann are extremely knowledgable about the local area and are very friendly and helpful, on more than one occasion Bob has driven me to the train station (it was raining) and when I stayed with my wife on the eve of our wedding there was a splendid bottle of champagne waiting on our bed!

The rooms are all spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. The breakfasts are freshly prepared and served in the dining room overlooking the meticulously maintained garden, its like eating breakfast looking at a living Monet painting.

a great place to stay !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    44
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
117
177
59
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in the "family room" on the first floor which was perfect for my young granddaughter (and nice for the other guests, too). Bob and Anne's knowledge of the area and their incredible hospitality made us feel at home even before we arrived. Everything was so clean and comfortable. Their home is conveniently located near town and near the canal for some lovely walks. Definitely will stay here the next time I come to Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HM95608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was impressed with St Ann's well before I arrived--as I was planning my trip, co-owner Bob was kind enough to help me with train schedules and referred me to the Jacobite Cruise, a highlight of my visit to Inverness. That introduction to St Ann's proved just a glimpse into the "above & beyond" kindness and hospitality he and his wife Mary Anne provided me. The B & B itself is a jewel--immaculate and tasteful with a wonderful art collection and lovely Victorian architectural details. My room was a quiet and lovely, the bed incredibly comfortable--one of my best night's sleep during my 2.5 weeks in Scotland. The backyard garden is a peaceful and beautiful sanctuary. Breakfast was delicious. All in all, it would be hard to give higher marks!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahantmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Everything you would expect from a top class B&B, but more. Bob and Mary Anne's hospitality is second to none. Friendly, welcoming and most helpful. They went out of their way to help me out of a jam and would have done more if required. I can't thank them enough.

This was my second stay in Inverness and my second time at St Ann's House. I wouldn't consider going anywhere else now.

10 mins stroll to town centre, clean, warm, comfortable, safe, welcoming, helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OESLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The room is so clean and white like a dream place. Hosters' hospitality made our hearts so warm as we stay in my own home. They even served us a lunch since we missed the morning Ness cruise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is a fabulous B&B. Bob and Mary Anne were generous and charming and the accommodation is stylish and very comfortable. The rooms are spacious, with a comfortable lounge as well as dining room. Great beds. A lovely garden and a very pleasant walk into town. I hardly ever rate 5 stars but St Ann's House is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellogirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

A lovely house and warm welcome, beautifal garden. Lovely room, amazing breakfast. Owners were lovely. welcoming and very helpful. Just a perfect stay all round.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#11 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunhallin House
Dunhallin House
#6 of 229 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.9 mi away
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
Inchrye Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Ardersier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's House

Property: St Ann's House
Address: 37 Harrowden Road, Inverness IV3 5QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ann's House, in Inverness, the capital of the Scottish Highlands is ideally placed to explore historic and scenic sites. It is five minutes walk from the River Ness with its restaurants and pubs. The house is a twenty minute drive from legendary Loch Ness. The owners are delighted to help you plan your trips, making the most of your holiday. Relax in the residents' lounge or in the colourful gardens. Catch up with home using free w-fi. Breakfast is served in a bright dining room looking onto the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Ann's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann's House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing