We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's by far the most cosy and fabulous stay for me !”
Review of St Ann's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Ann's House
Ranked #11 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

A very nice and homely place to stay especially after a long trip. When I arrived, Bob - the owner, showed me around the house and gave me some ideas of where to visit. My room is cute and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, I especially loved the home-made tangerine jam made by Maryanne. I must say, having breakfast in their dining room and overlooking their gorgeous garden was the highlight of my stay there.

I am very lucky that I got to know both Bob and Maryanne. They are very helpful, nice and kind. After knowing that I had booked a tour to Loch Ness, Bob checked the weather forecast and even phoned the tour company for me to postpone my visit for a day. I wish I could stay there for a longer period....... I miss them!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingNg2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for St Ann's House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 518 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very lovely place, well taken care of and spotlessly clean. Our host, Bob, is a very warm and smily person, very eager to provide any assistance and information. Great breakfast, lovely garden. Many thanks again Bob!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hara125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The owners are incredibly nice people; very concerned with your comfort and enjoyment.
Breakfast was excellent, and they have a very nice garden in the back to enjoy.
My only real complaint was the bed. I found it somewhat lumpy and uncomfortable. We were only there for 1 night, so it wasn't a huge issue.
Still, very good value for money. If they change out the mattresses with something better, they'd get 5 stars from me.
As it is, if I were visiting Inverness again, I'd try another B&B first, because of the bed issue.
However, if no other quality B&B were available, I would not hesitate to come back to St. Ann's.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Very helpful owner's Bob and Mary Ann. A lovely garden. 10 minutes walk to city centre. Warm and welcomning atmosphere. Nicely decorated room and comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunillaG_vle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Maryanne and Bob went out of their way to make me feel at home during my stay. As soon as I arrived (which was actually before official check-in time), Maryanne showed me my room, and made sure I had everything I needed. And, she gave me some great ideas for walks and birdwatching. My room was comfortable and quiet and overlooked their glorious garden. Breakfast was wonderful, and included Scottish-grown produce (the raspberries were a real treat!). Once Bob saw that I loved watching the garden and the birds, he made sure that I got the "best seat" every morning (this sounds like a small detail, but it was typical of Bob and Maryanne's kind but unobtrusive attentiveness). When my cell phone died (shame on you, Vodafone!), Bob offered me their house phone (he also offered me their computer and printer so that I could print out my last-minute flight documents). When I asked about live Scottish music, he telephoned a friend and then suggested Hootenanny, which was a lot of fun. All in all, I had a great visit. Thank you both!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank MarinaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Overall a pleasant stay. The hosts Bob and Mary were very hospitable; Bob's great advice and Mary's warmth shone through - thoroughly nice couple. One small point - shower was slightly small. But don't let that put you off - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Excaliburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

My wife, daughter and I had a fantastic four night stay at St. Ann's House. I don't have one negative word to say about our stay. The room was lovely and the breakfast was delicious with a wide range of choices. Best of all, Bob and Mary Ann were warm and helpful hosts. They were always available to help us with directions, advice, or anything else we needed. They never made us feel like we were a bother. Bob even let me use his binoculars when we were doing some sight seeing. If I'm ever in that area again, I'll be sure to stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ness Guest House
The Ness Guest House
#8 of 232 in Inverness
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inverglen Guest House
Inverglen Guest House
#1 of 232 in Inverness
505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lynver Guest House
Lynver Guest House
#3 of 232 in Inverness
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Ann's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Ann's House

Address: 37 Harrowden Road, Inverness IV3 5QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: $110 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ann's House, in Inverness, the capital of the Scottish Highlands is ideally placed to explore historic and scenic sites. It is five minutes walk from the River Ness with its restaurants and pubs. The house is a twenty minute drive from legendary Loch Ness. The owners are delighted to help you plan your trips, making the most of your holiday. Relax in the residents' lounge, catch up with home using free w-fi. Breakfast is served in a bright dining room looking onto the gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St Ann's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Ann's House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing