We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynver Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynver Guest House
Ranked #3 of 241 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful, immaculate rooms; friendly and helpful owners; good location; great breakfast; solid value. Couldn't ask for more from a B&B! (Tip: for a meal or a drink, you can't beat The Castle Tavern, as recommended by the lovely owners at Lynver.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunkyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
251
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked Lynver as a stop in Inverness as a part of our Scotland tour on our honeymoon and it was by far the best accommodation we had in our 9 day trip. Brian greeted us warmly and quickly showed us to our room and gave us a rundown of the amenities and gave us a recommendation for dinner that night. Brian and Michelle also gave us a newlywed welcoming gift in some lovely chocolates, chilled champagne and a thoughtful card. The room was very clean and had modern upgrades including a super comfortable bed and powerful shower. Breakfast in the morning was customized to our liking including homemade porridge and fresh fruit, felt like we were having breakfast at home. The location is very handy to the downtown core and easy to get out of the city for day trips like Loch Ness.

We can't say enough good things about Lynver house, the best overnight stay we've ever had. Thanks Brian & Michelle from the Canadian Newlyweds Mike & Kryssy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 2 on the top floor, beautiful views of the backyard and was very quiet and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my second trip to Inverness, unfortunately more than ten years since my last. However I was there for only two days and wanted to show my partner some decent Scottish hospitality and charm. I couldn't have dreamt of a better place than Lynver.

I had some issues with my online booking, and having already left from Edinburgh, I was anxious as to whether it was successful or not. Thankfully Michelle was quick and more than understanding with her quick response to my email confirming my booking.

The room was enourmous and absolutely spotless. The bathroom has recently been renovated and was without doubt the cleanest and 'beat' ensuite I've experienced in the UK. The bed was superb and I had a few wonderful nights sleep.

Brian and Michelle really go out of their way in all aspects. From asking you the night before whether Michelle should arrange your home made porridge to be made to set overnight, to recommending roads and sights and understanding that an Aussie prefers Vegemite over Black Pudding. Our breakfasts were so good that we never ate lunch.

If you want warm hospitality with the best breakfast in town, then don't bother anywhere else.

I can't wait to go back. Thank you Brian and Michelle.

John & Vicky from Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BormanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Lynver and is delightful. You get the warmest of welcomes from Michelle and Brian and they even recognised us from our 1st visit a few years ago, and considering the number of people they must meet this was very nice. Our room was amazing, large, and had been fully refurbished since our previous visit with the best of materials having been used. There is a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities with some biscuits and a couple of chocolates. The new bed was so comfy, it was one of the best mattresses I have slept on. Huge en-suite with very large walk in shower. Breakfast was plentiful, delicious and of very high quality, if you want something different then Michelle and Brian will do their best to please. This is more like visiting friends or relatives than staying in a B&B
Top marks to the both. Could this be improved upon..........eh, no couldnt think of anything!!
Great location as only a 10 minute walk to the castle/shops and with off street parking, a winner all round. Also their prices are excellant for the quality and service etc.
Dont hessitate, just book, you wont be disappointed!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming hosts, ideal location for Inverness town centre and to visit the Highlands. Lovely modern spacious rooms and delicious breakfast. Will definitely return here, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynncott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow, what a super B&B! The bedrooms are large with seating and a desk, the furnishings and decorating are all finished to an extremely high standard and everything is spotless. There is also a fridge in each bedroom which is really useful, together with a wide range of goodies on the tea tray and in the bathroom. There is an extensive breakfast incorporating everything you could possibly want and Michelle was very happy to cater for a gluten free diet. The location is perfect, situated on a quiet residential street but within 10 mins walk of the town centre and the river. We are already planning to come back next year and would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My mother & father in law have stayed at the Lynver before and were very impressed, so we thought we would give it a go too. It is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed and we were made feel very welcome from the moment they opened the door. The room was very modern and comfortable, it also had a very nice en suite bathroom, which was immaculate. We had a very nice breakfast and they kept asking if we wanted anything else, but we were so full we just couldn't eat any more. A lot of hotels could learn from the way you are looked after at the Lynver.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rocpool Reserve hotel & Chez Roux
0.3 mi away
Ardconnel House B&B
Ardconnel House B&B
#8 of 241 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynver Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynver Guest House

Property: Lynver Guest House
Address: 30 Southside Road, Inverness IV2 3BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 241 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lynver Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynver is an individually designed spacious detached villa situated in a quiet residential area of Inverness. The guest house is within a 5 minute walk of the city centre and many popular restaurants and bars. 3 superking en-suite rooms are available, equipped with TV/DVD, wi-fi, hairdryer, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Off-street parking and secure garage for bikes/motorbikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lynver Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynver Guest House Hotel Inverness
Lynver Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing