We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cosy haven”
Review of Dunhallin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunhallin House
Ranked #7 of 229 Inverness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“a cosy haven”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a superb place... somehow there should be a category between a B&B and a luxury hotel.... B&B does not do justice to Dunhallin.... wonderful room (Massive!).... immaculately clean....terrific bathroom and shower... and a cosy comfortable bed which ensured a wonderful nights sleep, despite the elements raging outside. I enjoyed the perfect breakfast before heading out into the early morning storm... A big thanks to Margaret and Sandy. If the '21' in Brighton is the best B&B in the world.... I think Dunhallin House runs in pretty close

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Sandy and I are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Dunhallin.thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review which we both really appreciate . We do our best to make our guests feel welcome and at home, so it's very rewarding when we get such a lovely review.
With our best wishes
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    41
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
228
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Nice property close to the center of Inverness. Large, clean comfortable room. The hosts were wonderful - very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was excellent! Would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_Traveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review . We both really appreciate our guests taking time to write reviews. If you ever visit Inverness again it would be lovely to see you.
With best wishes
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just leaving this superb b&b after a nights stay on our way to Ullapool.Margaret is a super host and the room was fantastic.Just had a super breakfast which Margaret prepared early especially for us.If visiting Inverness I would highly recommend this B&bB.We hope to come again for a longer stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
We would like to thank you both for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hopefully went on to enjoy the rest of your break.
With kind regards
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hosts were absolutely perfect. Friendly, polite and welcoming! We were late arriving and was not made to feel like we were a bother.

We were pleased the room was stacked with the usual (Tea/Coffee) plus some biscuits and sweets!

The room itself was very comfortable and well decorated, just perfect.

Breakfast was lovely, especially the porridge! The range was excellent, caters for varied palates. The accommodation is located near the town centre with regular buses passing near (1 minute walk)

Cannot fault this accommodation! Wish there was a later check out, but realise this is normal for Scotland. If we were to return to Inverness centre we'd definitely stay here again, thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Sandy and I would like to say many thanks for your lovely review. We hope you enjoyed your couple of days in the Inverness area and managed to spot Nessie on Loch Ness. Please visit again if you ever return to Inverness. It would be lovely to see you both again.
With kind regards
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Margaret made me feel very welcome and was really helpful with my arrangements. A lovely big room with a sofa. Great choice for breakfast served on hot plates! I would stay again and definitely recommend Dunhallin for a stay in inverness

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It is very much appreciated. It would be lovely to see you if you are ever in the area again.
With kind regards
Margaret and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights on our trip around the UK! The hospitality and accommodation was superb. Margaret and Sandy were helpful, cheerful and great company! Sad to leave but if I ever return to Inverness I know where we will be staying! I recommend Dunhallin as the best B & B I have stayed in for a long time. If in Inverness this is the place to stay! Well done Margaret and Sandy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darbyjess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review . Sandy and I both really appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. If you are ever lucky enough to return to our lovely country it would be lovely to see you again.
With our thanks
Sandy and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and from the minute of our arrival to leaving we were made to feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble. The room was ckean spacious and everything you could need. Breakfast was excellent more than you could want . The little extra touches like the whiskey in the hall for your bedtime drink was very welcome. Thank you Margaret and Sandy we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flirtyfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunhallin, Owner at Dunhallin House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed your bedtime dram, we find this is very popular with our guests !!!!
With our best wishes
Sandy and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
4.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhallin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhallin House

Property: Dunhallin House
Address: 164 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunhallin House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunhallin House is a newly refurbished, child-free, 4-star guest house set in the heart of the city of Inverness. Our aim is to deliver exceptional service in comfortable and relaxing surroundings and to ensure our guests feel they are visiting a 'home from home'. Rooms are en-suite with TV, DVD player & hair dryer. Free internet access. A comfortable lounge is available with books, games and magazines. Ample off-street parking, drying facilities, locked cycle storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dunhallin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhallin House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing